Addicted.

Fun Fact!

I grew up drinking soda.  Which in my house we called Coke.

It didn’t matter if it was sprite or pepsi or whatever.

It was Coke.

Which also happens to be my drink of choice.

Not Diet.

Not Cherry.

Not caffeine free.

Good, old fashioned, bad-for-me-full-of-sugar-going-to-make-me-fat- Coke!

[photo]

Another Fun Fact!

After moving to Charlotte and leaving my cupcake job, I noticed my jeans didn’t really fit like they used to.

And I suck at dieting.

Because please don’t hate me I’ve been thin my whole life.

Even though I ate and drank whatever I wanted.

And then I noticed I went through four a few 2 liters in a week.

So I stopped keeping Coke in the house because I was clearly addicted.

I switched to that Crystal Light Sweet Tea stuff.

Because let’s be real, I can’t drink plain water.

I only let myself have Coke if I’m out or at my parent’s house.

Okay, so on NYE, Mr. Husband and I are out to a fancy schmancy dinner at Olive Garden. And because it was NYE, I chose wine instead of Coke.  But Mr. Husband is addicted to Diet Coke.  And so that’s what he ordered.

He asked the waiter for a refill which the waiter brought right away.

Mr. Husband takes a sip and looks puzzled.

“Is this Coke,” he asks, handing me the glass.

I take a brief sip, “yes.”  And I continue to sip.

“Don’t drink it all,” Mr. Husband exclaims grabbing the cup from my mouth.  I look sheepishly at him as he takes the half drunk glass back so he can ask the waiter for a diet.

So I say, matter-of-factly, “that’s like asking a crack head, “hey, is this crack?”  and then telling them not to smoke it all!”

I might have a problem.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in Life, marriage, personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Addicted.

  1. Ashley says:

    This is such a funny post. I have many friends who are super avid coke drinkers. Personally I can’t tell the difference but maybe I just don’t pay close enough attention. Anyway… Have you ever had “Mexican Coke”? Apparently it is made with real sugar as compared to whatever strange fake-sugar concoction is in normal coke. All my friends who’ve had it say it is so much better than coke here, plus it is only sold in the old school glass bottles which makes any drink more awesome.

Leave a Reply

