FIGHT like a girl

Can I be real for a minute?

‎”I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.”
~Marylin Monroe

[photo]

I love wildly.

I try to constantly think of others.

I am compassionate.  Almost to a fault.

I try to make everyone happy all of the time.

I am a people pleaser.

But please, do not let any of that make you believe that I am not a strong person and that I will not stand up for what I believe in.  Or for myself.  Or for the people I love.

Because I am a people pleaser, I am often easily manipulated and guilt tripped.  It’s a quality that I both love and despise about myself.

Are any of you like this?  Are you polite almost to a fault that you land yourself in some really uncomfortable situations that you would much rather not participate in?  And it never fails, things are always suggested to me in awkward social situations that prevent me from saying what I’d really want to say, like “no.”  Or ‘HELL NO.”

I hate confrontation and will often concede only to avoid further drama or confrontation. I’m loud and outgoing, but I am wildly introverted as well.  What a wacky combo, I know.

There are things that no matter how hard I’ve tried I cannot  forget.  Or forgive.  And I’m not ready to right now.  And I‘m not sure I ever will be.  Some things are irreparable.

Do you stand your ground?  Please tell me I’m not the only person who feels this way sometimes.  Please tell me I’m not the only person who can see manipulation when it’s happening and refuses to play into it.

 

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in family, marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

