What it was like…

So I’ve been thinking.  Has anyone else noticed how much things change over the years?  Especially in regards to The Holidays?  I know I touched on this the other day, but it’s sitting so heavy on my chest.

The Holidays just aren’t the same anymore.  And I know it’s because we’ve all grown up.  Santa has removed his mask and we get to make our own decisions now (or do we?).  But I just keep thinking about the way things used to be, and I’m so wishing for just one more holiday like that.

You know, when family trickles in over the days.  The house is warm (too warm, Dad) and  full.  And it’s loud.  But we’re not doing anything.  It’s just loud.  So loud, that when I try to invite my best friend over, she excuses herself “but you’re having a family party.”  Oh, please.  It’s just us.  Just my crazy, loud, eats-a-lot and drinks-a-lot family.  And the house is full of that delicious turkey aroma.  And Mom pulls the bird from our ancient oven and places it on the stove where we all peek under the foil to catch a glimpse before my brother in law artfully slices it.  Then we’re all corralled into the dinning room.  The fancy one with the comically long table that is still too small for our ever growing family.  We argue over who sits where.  But we all sit.  Grace is said {Grace?  She passed away 30 years ago}.  And the passing of the food begins.  Who wants what?  And then the hollering starts.  Someone’s offended someone else.  The tears start and the table is quickly abandoned.

And I bet you’re wondering why on Earth do you miss that?  But that’s what it’s like.  Eventually we all eat.  And usually Mom and Uncle John (rest his soul) clean the table as the rest of us try to figure out the DVD player to watch Planes Trains and Automobiles followed by Christmas Vacation, which if you haven’t connected the dots, is exactly my family.  And then most of us fall asleep crammed in our living room with the TV on.

And that’s what The Holidays are supposed to be like.  But then we all grew up.

[I’ve searched the internets high and low for a photo of this crazy holiday experience, but alas, facebook didn’t exist back then…]

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

