Week Review

Good morning, Friends.  It’s been a while.  Who knew that such a dull life could be all consuming?  No, I take that back.  I don’t really think my life is dull, but in the contexts of pages, it might be.

You know how sometimes you see something that happens and you think, “That can only be God.”  I’m not the most religious person in the world, but I definitely believe.  And last year on our honeymoon, I saw God when he dumped a huge group of people in to our lives to make Athens, GA a little more bearable for us.  For me, being lonely is my worst fear, and I’ve had too much of it in my lifetime.

When we first moved here to Charlotte, I found a job almost immediately.  I don’t know how we would have done it if I hadn’t found a job so soon.  And no less, a job I love.  And we all know how uncommon that is for me!  But my nights were still spent in front of the TV with the pup glancing hopefully out the window for Mr. Husband’s headlights.  I was lonely.

And then one day, I went out to my car to get some stuff I’d bought to finally turn this house into a home.  And just at that moment, our new neighbor pulled into the driveway.  Imagine my delight when she got out of the car and she was my age!  And seemed so normal! (In this neighborhood, that’s completely uncommon!!)  And you know what?  We hit it off right away.  My nights are no longer spent lonely in front of the TV.  I no longer conversation bomb my husband when he walks in the door.  And I no longer feel scared to be alone in this house so much.  Because I have people who car right next door.  Oh, and my dog LOVES them!!  She’d much rather be over at their house then home :)

I’m spending this lovely cool morning under a blanket sipping vanilla biscotti coffee and catching up on episodes of Revenge.  (Great show, by the way).

What did you do this week?

Over the weekend I went and got my first shellac manicure.  O.M.G I love it!  It’s been a week today, and it still looks great!

I went mattress shopping on Monday afternoon with C! (the neighbor).  We had lots of fun testing out the mattresses and making complete fools of ourselves.  She’ll kill me for posting this pic, but shopping wears her out!

I had to use up some ground beef in the fridge on Tuesday before it went bad, so I made sauce and meatballs.  Mr. Husband can’t eat the pasta, so to avoid a massive load of leftovers, I told the neighbors not to worry about dinner and to come over!  It was so much fun.  (Please notice–not that some of you could–that our kitchen table is the EXACT same one my parents have.  That was a sweet surprise from Mr. Husband when we moved here.)

Bailey, pining over the neighbors after they left

I ended the week by mowing the lawn for my first time ever!  Mr. Husband’s schedule is crazy, so I thought it would be nice to take care of it for him.  Our dinky little mower got the job done just fine.  However, I ended up with a pretty nasty rash all over my arms, legs and stomach.  I guess I’m allergic to yard work :)

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

 

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in Bailey, coffee, friendships, marriage, nail polish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

