Whatcha been up to?

I did a little past blasting yesterday.  I scrolled through my facebook wall way back to when Mr. Husband and I were first engaged.  I’d forgotten how crazy, bizarre and busy things were.  I was constantly looking for a job, hating a job or trying to find a job.  I was planning a wedding (with no money because of the aforementioned job situation).  I was maintaining this little blog pretty well AND I was writing a novel.  With that said, I should be able to maintain this little blog without any complaints now that I’m far less busy.  No dice.

Do you guys want to hear a freaky story about the happy little ghetto I live in?  No?  Well, too bad.  I’m sharing anyway because I make the rules around here (I’ll be happy to note this is the only place I make the rules.  Husband I know is grinning somewhere).

Last Saturday I was enjoying my night in watching junk on the TV with a sleeping pup on the couch when I saw a few police cars pull up right down the street.  I peeked out the window a few times but then lost interest.  I just figured someone was beating their wife again.  (I live in a great part of town).  About twenty minutes after the police arrived, my neighbor knocked on my door and asked if I was okay because he heard Bailey barking her head off.  Bailey, however, was asleep on the couch.  Not my dog.

I invited him in anyway because he told me that there was apparently a car chase and the dude ditched his car and was now running.  Awesome.  We chatted for a while and then we saw the cop car right by our house turn off his lights and drive away.  We decided to go out onto my patio to see if the police on the street behind our houses were still there.  While we’re out there, we’re joking about how our curiosity was going to get us killed.  My neighbor was in the military and is currently an armed securities officer at the hospital, he knows his way around a weapon.  And he was armed.  And he joked that whoever was out there better be a good shot because he was armed…

Guys?  The words weren’t OUT OF HIS MOUTH before a gun shot fired about 30 yards away from us.  Holy crap your pants, batman!

We dashed inside, locked all of the doors and turned off all of the lights.  Oh, and called 911.  Welcome to the ghetto, ladies and gentlemen.

Unfortunately, I have no other details for this story.  I had my boss (who works at the police station) look into the case, but there is no report of anything.  Iiinteresting.

And not to change the subject, but I’m currently loving Friday for this reason:

I’d never had this before (and I’m typically a white wine kind of girl) but the bottle was too cute to pass up.  It’s not bad, either!

The best friend arrives tomorrow for a girl’s day, and I just finished painting her birthday present.  I should probably stick to my day job because painting is not my forte.  But I’ll be sure to share the [embarrassing] finished project once I’ve given it to her.

Oh, and I know I mentioned the neighbors earlier, but we had an awesome couple move in next door.  They are like our neighbor soul-mates or something.  We all grilled out on Sunday, and it was so much fun.  The night ended with the boys watching football at their house and the girls watching junk TV at my house.

Okay, friends.  Laundry and cleaning are calling my name.  Jealous of my Friday night?  I know you are.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in blog, Dog, family, friendships, Life, marriage, personal, pictures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

