Lessons: The Hard Way with The Smitten Mintons!

I hope you are all excited to welcome my second guest poster: Julie, from The Smitten Mintons.  Her lesson is a good one, so listen up!  {And show her some love!}

Hey y’all! I’m Julie from The Smitten Mintons and I’m so happy to be here today!
My lesson learned the hard way happened in high school. I have always been one to fall hard and struggle with maintaining balance between my relationship, my friends, and my schedule. Well, in one particular relationship, I invested so much of myself that I neglected other important aspects of my life, including my friends.
I found myself choosing to spend time with my boyfriend over just about anything else. I would skip the girls’ nights that I always loved to go to, and I barely saw my best friends.
After we broke up, my wonderful friends were there waiting for me. They were there when I needed them, and I’ll never forget that.
But the one thing that still bothers me is our trip to Europe. A teacher from our high school took a group of us to tour Europe, including my boyfriend and me. From that trip, I probably have a handful of pictures of me with my friends, and the rest are of me and the boyfriend. I realized that I was so attached-at-the-hip with him, that I barely made any time to be with my friends. I missed making memories with friends that are still in my life, 6 years later, for a guy I haven’t talked to in years.
So, the lesson of my story is…there needs to be balance. No matter what it is that you tend to put all of yourself into…school, boyfriends, family, friends….I think there needs to be a healthy balance of each.
 Luckily, by the time I met my sweet husband, I had learned this lesson and made sure to not make the same mistake again.
Thanks so much for having me, Joey! This is a wonderful series that really made me think about how important it is to remember past lessons learned!

Thanks so much for stopping by, Julie.  This is a lesson that everyone should take to heart.  I know I’ve been there, have you?

 

Again, if you are interested in participating in this series, shoot me an email!  iwrite23 [at] gmail [dot] com!

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in friendships, high school relationships, Lessons, Life, love, marriage, relationships, young love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lessons: The Hard Way with The Smitten Mintons!

  1. Julie says:

    Thanks again, Joey! I really love this series :)

Leave a Reply

