Never forget. We will never ever forget.

[photo]

Today, I am twenty-five years old.  I am married to a man I knew this day ten years ago.  I am still best friends with the girl I was developing a friendship with this day ten years ago.  I finished high school and college and my life has been so full the last ten years.

I was old enough this day ten years ago to know exactly what was going on.  As a daughter of a veteran and a sister of an active military (at the time), I knew enough.  I knew enough to feel sad and terrified.  But what I remember most was feeling like I lost my voice.  What I was feeling inside couldn’t be expressed in words.

I was a sophomore at Millbrook High School.  I was in Geometry; it was the very end of class.  A teacher came in and informed my teacher to turn on the television, and she did.  What we all heard first was that all Wake County Schools would stay in session until further notice.  “What is it, some kind of storm or something?”  My teacher wondered aloud.

But it wasn’t a storm, not the kind that we all were so familiar with.  It was absolute devastation–and we are all still feeling it so boldly ten years later.

Class was dismissed, and I found my boyfriend at the time in the hallway as I always did.

“A plane, it hit one of the twin towers,” I tried to explain.

“What movie were you watching,” he asked casually.

“It’s no movie, dude,” a friend came up from behind and explained.  “We’re under attack.”

I saw the second tower fall live in the band room during lunch; a lunch period that no one ate a bite.  Which looking back now, I realize how very early we had lunch!

I have family in NYC.  I have family who couldn’t get home for days and who are still battling with the memories of the tragic day.

It’s a beautiful day here today, just as this day began ten years ago.  We will never forget.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in blog, family, friendships, Life, personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

