Wine. Chocolate. Breathe.

Today was rough.  As the three year old I watch opened his mouth and shouted on repeat through hysterical tears: I WANT MY MOMMY, I had to stop myself from crumpling onto the floor and responding: You know what, kid?  Me too.  

1) the infant had a hard time sleeping today and her schedule was all off. 2) the 3 year old cried for mommy all day long. 3) they found more things wrong with my car, don’t they always? 4) the shop rolled my broken window down and couldn’t get it back up, don’t they always?  Oh, and it was about to rain. 5) Came home to find the dog chewed my husband’s new sandals.  6) I need to do laundry and instead I’m blogging and drinking wine. 7) I’ve been nasty and mean to my husband all week long.  8) We still don’t have a functioning microwave.  9) whine whine whine.  I’m finished, I promise.

Anyway, forget my dumpy mood.  How are you?

I’m heading home tomorrow to take care of a few things.  And it’ll be only my second time traveling home alone in over a year.  I’m excited to spend some much needed alone time with my mommy, my sister and my bff.  Oh, and my sweet little niece too.

I did something the other day that will bring some exciting changes to this little blog.  Over the last year, I’ve learned a little more about the blog world, and I’ve even made a few blog friends (don’t make fun of me!).  And I’m verrry excited to debut what I’ve been working on.  Hope you guys enjoy it as much as I’m hoping you will!

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about my frenemies from high school.  Did you have any of those?  Girls who were your friends one minute and the ones drenched in all your drama the next?  I had a couple.  And it’s nice to see how all of that kind of falls to the wayside as we grow up.  It’s one of those identifying moments for me.  When you realize you’re really not sixteen anymore.  And that maturity almost always wins out.  And all that “frenemy” business falls away, and they just become “friends.”  It’s nice that after all these years, we still have ties to the people who were so present in our lives as we were growing and changing and finding ourselves.  Even if they were part of the reason that growing up was so hard.  Facebook, you have some great qualities about you, even if you keep trying to force that chat app on me.

Go pour yourself a glass of wine.  Or of apple juice, whichever you prefer.  And grab some kind of decadent sweet treat.  And take a deep breath.  Tomorrow is Friday.  All those kiddies out there survived their first week of school, and I survived my first week back at work.

[Also coming soon: a book rave for Chevy Steven’s Still Missing which may or may not have been the reason I made the City Inspector who showed up to my house yesterday show me three forms of ID before I allowed him into my house.]

xoxo

 

 

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in blog, dessert, family, inspiration, Life, marriage, personal, ramblings, summer, sweet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wine. Chocolate. Breathe.

  1. Sarah says:

    The frenemies from high school made me think of a conversation I had with my little sister last night. I was talking about how my 10-year reunion is coming up in 2013 (ugh) and how the Class of 2003 had, for some reason, had a 5-year reunion.

    “Obviously, I didn’t go,” I told her. “5 years isn’t enough time to forget why I hated all these people in the first place.”

    About sums it up.

    Also, “Still Missing”? Amazing. I just read her newest book, “Never Knowing.” Can’t decide which one I like more.

Leave a Reply

