sweet and savory: a concoction

It’s to be expected that cupcake eating is a hazard of my job.  It’s all for the sake of research, right?  I mean, who doesn’t like a job that “taste testing” is part of the job description?  One of our first days open my boss handed us all a fork and told us to go into the kitchen and take a bite of a concoction she’d created.  That’s the fun part of this job.  Coming up with the most random of flavors and shoving them all together in a magical thing called a cupcake.

A side effect of summer is that the town is deserted which leaves us with more down time.  And when we have down time, we get creative.  Look what my boss and I did yesterday:

{photo sent to me by the awesome author of this blog!}

[Also, I realize this may look disgusting, but bare with me…]

A wedding cake cupcake had taken a little tumble in the case which was a perfect excuse for me to finally try it [I know, gasp.  I hadn’t tried our best selling cupcake yet.  White cake.  Vanilla buttercream.  Not my typical cup o’ tea.  I’m a choco-holic. But I was pleasantly surprised.]  After a few bites, I moved on to the potato chips I had left over from lunch [don’t judge us, a lot of us cupcake-a-teers are stress eaters].  I commented about how the flavors were actually quite pleasing and well, a new special may have been born.

E, my boss, mentioned that Jimmy Fallon has a Ben & Jerry’s flavor that had potato chips in it, so of course we had to try the flavors out together.  

We drizzled caramel over the potato chips and topped them with dark chocolate chips and then took a bite of the vanilla cupcake.  And oh…my…gosh!  So many levels of flavor.  So much to like!  Sweet, salty, crunchy and creamy.  So delish!

Give it a try!  I bet you’ll love it!

Until next time, loves. xoxo

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in blog, cupcakes, dessert, pictures, summer, sweet and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to sweet and savory: a concoction

  1. Megan says:

    Oh my gosh, this looks totally awkward, but I bet it really is delicious!! It’s kinda like peanut butter and chocolate. YUM!!

Leave a Reply

