Coasters! [92]

Okay.  Remember that little survey thing I posted a few nights ago about His and Hers?  And it asked who was neater, and I said when it came to cups that Mr. Hubs was?  Well.  This is Mr. Husband playing my cups like a musical instrument because there were just that many of them!

From left to right: Juice, soda, milk then coffee.  I don’t know why I don’t put them in the dishwasher.  For some reason I feel like putting them next to the sink is good enough.  Why?  For the record, they are all empty.  I didn’t just leave milk sitting out.  Promise.

Today is MOTHER’S DAY!  And I am so excited that with being the newest member on my father’s cell phone plan I can now speak with her whenever I want without having to worry about minutes!  Skiptidilidoo!!!  I’ve also got a nifty craft in the works which will serve as a very tardy mother’s day present.  I’ll be sure to reveal once it is complete!

Today I spent the morning crafting.  It was so nice to get back into it because it’s been a while.  But today’s craft was super easy!

DIY Coasters

You will need:

-4 tiles [I found mine at Lowes and then went and returned them for way cuter ones that were only 2 cents more: $.44/each]  The ones pictured above are ugly–don’t judge

-cork board.  I purchased this pack at Michaels with a 40% off coupon so I paid like $1- for them.  They need to be cut up in to little pieces to hot glue on to the back of the tile so you don’t scratch your furniture.

-Hot glue gun…duh

-Scrapbook paper–get creative!  I actually changed my paper halfway through the project too…I’m way indecisive these days.

-Mod Podge for the scrapbook paper

-Optional: stencils, paint and paint brush

Step one:

Cut up all the pieces of cork board and hot glue them onto the back of the tile

Step 2: cut up the paper to fit the tile.  If you’re making a set of 4 you will only need one sheet.  Also, be sure to cut a little smaller than the tile.  You don’t want anything hanging over the edge.

Step 3: If you are choosing to paint anything on to the paper (I chose to paint an “H” for our last name) do this now.  Allow time for drying.  My paint dried in about 5-10 minutes.  I used PlAID acrylic paint: Metallic pure gold.

Step 4: Brush a thin layer of mod podge onto the tile and place the measured out piece of paper onto the tile.  Smooth out any air pockets.

Step 5: Brush another thin layer of mod podge over top of the scrapbook paper.  This will seal in the paper and protect it.  Don’t use too much.  Smooth out any pockets.  Don’t worry if there is a slightly white film…it will dry clear!

Viola!

Do you just love?  Because I just LOVE!

Please note…my furry children were careful to keep their mommy company on Mother’s Day.  Even though sometimes they were really in the way…

[no cats were injured in the taking of this photograph]

[Bailey is a wittle scared of the camera…Poor pup.]

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend and Mother’s Day!  I’m off to finally shower and get ready for the day!  Love weekends!

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in Crafts, inspiration, personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

