Our Car Graveyard [81]

And not that I’m trying to harp on this.  I’m really not.  But of course I get all emotional and just start thinking too much into things.  See those two cars?  Why do they feel like they are such a part of who we are?  Well, I guess because they are.  Those two cars belong together.  Why, you ask?  Well, those are our cars from high school.  That white truck is the truck I’d wait anxiously for in the high school parking lot.  It’s the truck that would make my heart race when I’d hear it pull up in my parents’ driveway.  That Camry?  It’s the car I got taken away when I got mixed up with the wrong crowd.  It’s the car my best friend and I would drive aimlessly around Raleigh in dreaming about well, now.

And now they’re both goners.  They’re fixable, sure.  But I just can’t help but wonder how much longer we’ll have either.  And it makes me a little sad.  It’s as if as long as we have those cars I can still feel the high school versions of ourselves floating around.  I realize I probably sound crazy.  But do you get me at all?  I can still see him pulling up in the lot a few spots over from me before we were even dating.  He’d come over to my car and sit in the passenger seat while I tried my best to dodge conversation with him.

That Camry?  It dying is practically the reason J and I are even married.  He stopped early in our senior year while my mom and I were waiting on the tow truck.  He stopped and everything changed.  So forgive me if I’m a little emotional about our cars dying.  Forget the money part of it (which don’t get me wrong has me stressed to the max).  I’m just sad.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in high school relationships, love, marriage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Car Graveyard [81]

  1. Kaleigh says:

    I know how you feel. I had this ring that my husband gave me when we were dating. It’s wasn’t an expensive shiny thing. It was just a simply sweet ring that I cherished. And then one day it disappeared. My heart broke at that. It was as if a part of my memories were taken. I can remember so many things related to that ring, just as you remember so many things related to those vehicles. It’s a part of the experiences. These objects are pieces of the history and love that have been shared between two people.

Leave a Reply

