When childhood best friends grow up [76]

Please don’t judge me.  But I may have just searched the above video in youtube and was immediately transported to my childhood while listening and watching.  Remember that friend I mentioned yesterday who is PREGNANT?  Well, confession: her sisters and I would recreate music videos by the Spice Girls all the time.  And we’d fight over who got to be Ginger and Baby Spice.  Just like we used to fight over who got to be the pink power ranger.  Why we played power rangers when we were kids I’ll never know.  We were a little old for that.  But really?  Whose too old to choreograph “fight scenes” on the trampoline?  Apparently not us!

I’d probably be embarrassed by the number of VHS videos at my parents house of home recordings of us doing songs like the above.  Or Wannabe.  Or plays we would put on.  Or best yet: we once video taped an entire sleep over.  Yes, we were that cool!  We used to have the awesome rock out sleepovers in my parent’s basement.  They were two floors up from us so we could stay up as late as we wanted and be as loud as we could ever dream and not get in trouble!  We seriously had the best childhood ever.  Really.

It really makes me miss those girls.  Theres a line in the above song “always be together.” And we would sing that line with such gusto because we just believed that would be true.  Nothing in the world could come between our friendship.  Their parents used to say they had four daughters because I basically lived at their house.  But they moved across town when we entered high school.  We weren’t driving yet so that seemed so far away.  And we all know what happens in high school: we change.  We build friendships with people around us and forget our childhood.  Well, I never ever forgot my childhood, but we did move on from the days of playing dolls and riding our bikes to Burger King.

But those girls?  They’ll always be my friends.  And maybe some day we’ll have a reunion tour of our Spice Girl days and show our future children what geeks we really were.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in family, friendships, personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

