My 1st Craft!! [72]

Ta-da!!  I did it.  I bought the supplies and spent several days working on and completing my first craft!  I’m uber excited about it too.

My Coffee Filter Wreath

Step 1) Buy the following supplies:

  1. Coffee filters (I used about 500)
  2. Wreath form
  3. Hot glue gun and glue
[you don’t actually need the scissors I just had them to cut the tag off the wreath form]
I got all of my supplies except for the glue gun at The Dollar Store.  Yes.  You read that correctly.  I spent a whopping $2 on this wreath!!

Step 2) You’ll need to twist the filters into florets kind of like this.  
 Step 3) Hot glue the floret onto the wreath form and repeat!

Be sure to put on a DVD box set of your favorite TV show or a list of your favorite chick flicks because it’s kind of monotonous after a while.  Oh, and all your crafters out there? You could have warned a girl that she’ll burn the living bejesus out of her fingers while using the hot glue gun.  And those suckers hurt!  I literally burnt every one of my fingers way more than one time.  I just kept telling myself that I was toughing my hands up for all my crafting endeavors.  Let’s hope.  But back to the tv show.  I picked Gilmore Girls season 1:
I like this show because it reminds me of my mom.  No, she didn’t have me when she was sixteen, but we’re best friends and she really likes this show too.  


I woke up this morning feeling miserable.  Which sucks because today is my only day off.  But I’m sure I didn’t feel well because I ate a total of once yesterday.  Which is never good for me.  So I woke up at my regular time of 8AM but felt terrible.  I ventured out to get some milk and fixed myself a giant bowl of cereal and glass of water then went back to bed.  And I slept until noon!  Whoa!  Then I spent the day finishing my wreath and Mr. Hubs couponed.
It was a pretty great Sunday.  We also had date night at Logan’s Road House then went to Target because we had coupons for cat litter and season 5 of HIMYM [one of our favorite shows] was on sale for 14.99!  

But without further adieu:

 Please don’t judge my bow.  I’m not a very good bow maker.  I’ll work on that.  Also, this isn’t where the wreath will live.  I want to put if above our bed in the bedroom but I’m still in the midst of convincing Mr. Husband to allow me to put a whole in the wall to hang it.  He’s convinced that any hole will make us lose our security deposit.  I’m trying to convince him that it’s part of normal wear and tear on the place.  So far…I’m losing.

But back to the wreath.  It’s it so light and fluffy and beautiful?  It looks expensive, doesn’t it?  Or like a wreath made of fluffy white carnations.  I am in love with it!! 

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in Crafts, marriage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My 1st Craft!! [72]

  1. Kaleigh says:

    I think you did amazing! It looks great! Right now I’m getting plans together be crafty as well. I’m getting giant block letters that will spell out our last name and then I will paint them and attach ribbons to the bottom to hold photo frams with our family pictures in them. Sounds nifty right? Anyway great job!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I LOVE your wreath! Tell him that holes can be filled with toothpaste….or you could do it right with a little bit of spackling. I usually use this … but not the full kit. All you need to do is stuff a little in the hole with your finger and use a washcloth to wipe away the excess. If your walls aren’t white, and you don’t have the wall paint, just buy a little bit of acrylic paint to match the wall color and paint over the spackling. And then you’re good as new. No one will ever notice that there was ever a hole.

  3. Pingback: 2011: Year in review | hodge[s]podge

Leave a Reply

