Domestic: the running of a home [60]

Today I worked harder than I do at work.  From the moment I woke up I was cleaning.  I cleaned things I didn’t even know needed cleaning.  Sometimes I just get in those moods where everything I see looks disgusting and actually grosses me out.  Don’t get me wrong, we keep our house fairly clean all the time.  Sure the hamper overflows sometimes and I might go a day or two without swiffering the floor, but my house is far from disgusting.  [fun fact: my husband hates the word gross because it was overused in his childhood.  I found this out when I was trying to justify why I was going on a cleaning frenzy.]

My mom used to repeat something my Grandfather used to say [he died before I was born]: never leave the house without your bed made.  You never know who you’ll run into and invite back for coffee. Good advice, Grandpa.  Because you know it never fails.  The one time you let your house go to crap is when you run into that long lost friend.  Or you’re texting back and forth with a friend who you realize may need a place to stay for the night and you can’t even offer for them to come because you’re already late for work and the house is a mess.

And all of that got me taking a look around my house, and I realized how embarrassed I’d be if certain people [people I know to be clean freaks] stumbled into my house at any given moment.  So today I cleaned.  I cleaned like I’ve never cleaned before.  And then I busted out my trusty dry erase board and I assigned certain chores for certain days.  Because I just can’t let the house get like that again.  You know, when it looks clean but isn’t actually clean.

I’ve got things on the list like wiping down the baseboards and dusting.  And that scares me because all of a sudden I have to do things like wipe down the baseboards and dust.  When did these responsibilities sneak up on me?

So here’s to clean houses and happy wives!

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

