Family of 5 [54]

Currently my cat Webster is laying half on the armrest of the chair and across my left arm.  And Bailey is jumping crazily through the office with the carcass of a toy that she killed like a month ago hanging from her mouth.  I’ve said to hubster that we run a zoo more in the last month than I can count.  Like, for instance, the night we returned so late from Raleigh there were thunderstorms.  We probably would have slept through them, but the animals were so freaked out that we had to spend time calming all of them down.  “It’s okay, Bailey.  Lay down.  It’s okay.  It’s okay,” we mumbled until we all fell back to sleep.

Running this four legged household has me thinking about kids.  I know for darn sure we just aren’t anywhere near ready for kids right now.  At least not the kind with two legs.  But with children being the most logical next big step in a newlywed’s life, we get asked a lot when we’re having kids.  I usually reply with something like “when we know, you’ll know.”  But I’m thinking that for now I’ll reply with “I’ve got three of the four legged variety.”  But I guess the big question is when will we be ready?  We’ve got plenty of time.  We’ve got all the time in the world it seems right now.  My husband is still in school and I’d like to go back.  So the answer is not for a long while. But that doesn’t stop my uterus from fluttering when I see a new mom walk in to the shop with an adorable infant.  And it doesn’t stop my heart from melting when a kid does something so sweet and innocent.  Like this weekend when I was leaving my four year old niece’s dancing school and she ran after me because I didn’t give her a proper good bye.  She hugged and kissed me and was on her way.  I was just to the door when she stopped and turned to holler “Love you, Aunt Jo.”  Ohhhhhh, melt my friggin’ heart!

For now, we have three kids whom I have to clean up after and feed and wake up with in the middle of the night.  They require a lot of “stuff” when we travel and I constantly think about their comfort and happiness.  They literally get on my last nerve and make me so angry sometimes, but at the end of the day I love them so much and would do anything for them.  I often put their needs before my own (there have been times when we’ve bought cat or dog food first and used whatever was left for our own groceries…).  They are fun to watch when they interact with each other.  And I sometimes have to break up sibling fights.  They each have their own personalities and some are better behaved than others.  There’s the captain complainer that most families have and the quiet, mature one and the baby who just likes to have fun.

And trust me, when I know anything about a two legged baby I’ll share.  But for now we’re perfectly happy with our family of five.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in marriage and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

