In the last 10 years [46]

Do you ever feel like you aren’t your age?  It’s weird how when I think of myself I still picture the life I had when I was fifteen.  I hesitate to describe myself or any of my friends as actual adults. That’s not us.  That’s our parents.  Right?

Hubs and I were talking about some of our friends tonight while at dinner, and I mentioned something that happened when we were fourteen.  That’s ten years ago, folks.  And I realized that the majority of my best friends are friends I made in high school.  Some of the people who matter most to me still are the ones who mattered so much when a boy broke my heart or when I got my drivers license.

And it made me realize how incredibly blessed my life has been.  Because not everyone has that.  Not everyone has those people standing behind them always.  Those who despite your current mood or phase or hiccough in life still love you completely and are always always there for you.

I met most of my good friends in band.  Marching band, that is.  Yes, I was a geek in high school.  Who am I kidding… I’m still a geek.  Geek or not though, we had a fantastic time back then.  We were goofy and silly and we always had each others’ backs.  We’d get sugar highs on the busses on the way to competitions and we’d fall asleep watching movies on Friday nights.  We’d drive around with no place to go because we could. My parents didn’t have to worry about me when I was with them.  They called my mom “mom” and were terrified of my father, as it should be.  And today?  They still call my mom “mom.”  They’re a little less terrified of my father.  And we’ve still got each others’ backs.  We still fall asleep during movies but we don’t drive around with no place to go anymore.  Gas is too daggone expensive for that these days.  We’ve traded our flutes and clarinets for husbands and puppies.

We’re grown ups now.  We have jobs and pay bills and some of us are even married (or on their way to being married).  We don’t have to ask our parents if we can go out on Friday night and we don’t have to call when we’re out past curfew.  We can drink and basically do whatever we want. But responsibilities kicked in sometime between then and now.

I’d say being grown up isn’t half as fun as growing up (Ataris, In This Diary anyone?), but when you’re a grown up with the same silly friends you had when you were growing up, life is made all that more interesting.  We may not find mischief like we used to, but we sure have a heck of a time reminiscing about it all.

So friends?  Here’s to the next ten…twenty…infinity years!

ps…I have surprisingly few pictures from HS on my computer/facebook.  I guess it’s because it was all in the days before digital cameras were common and Facebook existed.  But you guys know who you are!

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in high school relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

