Things that matter [41]

You guys remember my lent thing?  The one where I gave up being negative?  it’s a lot harder than it sounds. And I’m a little ashamed of that.  No, who am I kidding.  I’m a lot ashamed of that.  Who wants to be a negative nasty person all the time?  That cheerful person is in there somewhere.  I promise.  She comes out to play sometimes.  More so, now a days, but still not as much as I’d like.

We drove back from Tampa today.  That’s a long drive.  And it was a long day.  Something you guys might not know about me–I hate driving.  When I got my permit my Uncle would force me to drive.  He was worried I wouldn’t get enough practice then be thrown into it when I turned 16.  I liked the idea of driving.  The freedom that came with it.  But I hate to drive.  Confession: it scares me.  With that said, hubs drives most of the time.  But when we drive long distances, like to Tampa, I have to do a little too.

It was my turn.  And I needed/wanted a coffee drink so I wouldn’t get sleepy.  I picked McDonald’s.  We pull up to the drive through window and the dog is growling like mad at the woman collecting our money.  I start to fret.  We pull to the next window and J and I switch seats while we wait for my drink.  The woman hands it to me.  It’s drippy and sticky and I get mad.  I throw the car into gear and whiz into a parking spot.  I go to put the drink down and squish my hand into the whipped cream that is exploding through the top.  Something else about me?  I loathe whipped cream.  Just never been a fan.  I get all huffy and make rude comments about it all to hubs who is now annoyed with me.  Just as we pull onto the highway…it starts to rain.  Great.

Then suddenly a song comes through the speakers from my iPod:

Rascal Flatts Things That Matter

Sometimes I take on this world by myself

Thinking I’ve got all the answers, Don’t need anybody’s help

Well, God was right there waiting for me all along

To fall down on my knees, surrender  all

Things that matter; things that don’t

Boy do I lose it over things that don’t matter at all. Things that do matter?  Hubs and I made it home safely from Tampa.  I start my new job tomorrow at Gigi’s Cupcakes.  Hubs and I were able to meet a good friend for supper last night and catch up.  We’re healthy and happy.  We’re safe.  And we’re taken care of.

Things that matter.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

