Have I told you about the time my house was broken into? [32]

This time last year my best friend and I lived together for the entire month.  It was and will be the only month we’ll ever live together.  She was gracious enough to offer to move in for the month since my parents’ were both gone and our house had just been supposedly broken in to.  While I was home.  Yes.  That’s effing scary.

The story?  I worked the closing shift at the tanning salon.  I was craving pizza, so I stopped by Papa Johns, picked up my pizza and headed home.  Our hardwoods had just been redone, so I had to get inside creatively.  I danced my way in.  No, really.  I opened the door, slid my stuff onto the stairs and stepped from the doorway onto outter rungs of the stairs and swung my leg over.  Viola!  I didn’t touch the floor, thankyouverymuch.

I instantly disarmed and rearmed the alarm.  I never did this. I always, always disarmed the alarm and went about my business.  But since I knew I’d be spending the evening hanging out in my room on the 3rd floor, I figured better safe than sorry.  Boy was I right.

About ten minutes after getting upstairs, I vaguely heard something over American Idol.  I paused the TV and listened carefully.  Shit, that’s the alarm.  As I registered this, the phone rang which I answered.

“Is everything okay, ma’am.”  I thought about this.  No.  No, it wasn’t.  I’m home alone in a house and the alarm is going off.  No Good. The alarm company informed me they would call the police but instructed me to do the same.  So I did.  The police department got my info and hung up the phone. What?!  So now, there  I was alone in a house that may or may not be getting robbed.  Awesome.

I called everyone I knew, multiple times.  No one answered. I ventured down to the second floor without the lights on with just my cell phone and my keys in my hands.  I sat in my parents window and prayed for the cops to come faster.  someone could be in here is all I kept thinking.  My throat was all but closed.

Finally, a car approached with no lights on and pulled into my driveway.  At this point, I ran downstairs (still unsure if I’d run into the robber), danced over the railing and met the cop.  What happens next is far too elaborate for me to explain in a rushed blog post, so stay tuned for the rest of the story on tomorrow’s blog!

[photo credit]

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

