Friday Five [30]

1) Judge if you will, I’ve deiced to read Shopaholic Takes Manhattan next.  I read the first of the series years ago and have since seen the movie.  But it just seems like such a fun read.  And isn’t reading supposed to be fun?  I remember thinking, though, when I read the first one I’m glad I’m reading this now and not a year ago.  I had just gotten myself out of some crappy debt when I read the book–paid all my credit cards off in full and never looked at them again!  I mean, what kind of bank offers a college kid a credit card with that kind of limit on it?  Really?  It was a recipe for disaster that somehow I managed to survive eventually.  (And by survived I of course mean moved in with my parents and devoted every cent of every pay check from my first post college job  to the creditors.)

2) We may or may not be getting the Camry back this weekend.  I’m all anxious because I’m the type of person who has to have everything so completely mapped out and well, it’s not.  It’s not in our hands.  It’s in Randall-the-mechanic’s hands.  He said he’d like to have it done by this evening at dinner time.  Which, if that’s the case, we’ll need to rent a car for tomorrow and drive the 4.5 hours back to Boone, pick up the Camry and drive both cars  the 4.5 hours back to GA.  I hope this is the end of this for a while.

3) This is a small small victory for Webster the cat, I know I’ve mentioned him here before.  He, uh, doesn’t always remember where his litter box is.  And it drives me friggin’ crazy.  In fact, more often than not, he’ll pee like a FOOT in front of his box.  Which means I then have to scrub the guest bathroom floor like every day.  And I hate scrubbing the guest bathroom floor.  But on to the story.  On Monday morning I discovered he’d peed on the floor once again.  I had scrubbed the floor not twelve hours earlier.  Which then turned into me emailing my BFF asking her to defend Webster’s honor otherwise he would be posted on craigslist in 3…2…1.  (For the record, I would never ever do that to him.  Not actually, anyway.)  She saved his tush.  Monday I scrubbed the mess out of the floor, rearranged Webs and George’s litter boxes, changed their litter, etc all in hopes of luring him back in.  AND IT WORKED! No accidents yet!

4)Anyone watch American Idol?  Well, I do.  I’d forgotten, though, how nerve wracking the results shows are.  And it was hubs’s first time experiences me during an Idol results show.  I could feel his judgement radiating through the house, but who cares.  I was so delighted that Lauren Alaina made it into the top 10.  I just like her; I don’t care what anybody else says.  The six that had to sing for their lives, I felt, all did a really good job.  But Robbie had me crying.  Dude has such a sweet voice.  I was sad to see him go.  Others, on the other hand, I was happy to see go.  Clint being one– uh? Really dude.  America isn’t going to vote for a jerk.  And Jordan just kind of bombed his debut which I was kind of thankful for since I started not to like him in group week.  I do agree with the judges that this year is so full of talent.  The show always is, but this year it seems that every one of those contestants can, I don’t know, actually sing the roof off a place.

5) Webster just jumped from the lazy boy (where I’m sitting) into my office chair and spun around about three times.  He looks a little nauseous now.  Here’s hoping he doesn’t puke.  Hubs followed Webs in here just a few minutes ago and told me that he’d jumped from the top of the cabinets onto the floor instead of taking his normal: cabinets, fridge, counter floor route.  I’m beginning to wonder if Webster is missing a few brain cells….

Have a great weekend everyone!

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Five [30]

  1. Sarah says:

    I used to love the Shopaholic books, but after the third or fourth one, I hated the main character so much. Like. . .I hated her like she was a real person.

    She always learns these lessons at almost the end of the books, then she’s backsliding by the very end, and she hasn’t learned ANYTHING by the beginning of the next book. FRUSTRATING!

    I started the newest one, got 3 pages in, and couldn’t stand it.

Leave a Reply

