Home…or something like it [23]

Back and forth.  Back and forth.  That’s what we’ve been doing lately with the town of Boone, NC.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Boone.  I just don’t love the 4.5 hour drive every weekend.  And today?  We rented a car.  I drove our loaner from our friend and J drove the rental.  We literally dropped off the loaner car, grabbed a bite and started the 4.5 hour drive back to GA.  And we get to do it all again next weekend when my car is finished.  YAY!

Being back in Boone the last two weekends got me thinking about college.  Which is to be expected, I guess.  It felt normal to be there.  I knew all the back roads and where they all go.  I know which restaurants I like and which ones I don’t.  I even know which stop lights take forever to cycle through.  I had a life there.  And just like that, it’s just a memory.  It’s a town I used to know.  It’s a place I once upon a time called home that now I just drive through empty.  I have no bed there.  I have no kitchen and no roommate.  I don’t have class to attend.  It feels like it was a lifetime ago.  And yet if feels like it was yesterday.

I had mixed feelings when it was all ending.  I was so stupid excited to get away from the stress of being on my own.  Yes, I was that college kid who moved back to her parents’ house when they graduated.  And it comforted me to know that I’d be back in the safe bubble of what I always referred to as home.  But I knew my life as I knew it was about to change, and I hate change.  I also hate messes, so you can imagine my horror when I lived in a constant mess in the weeks preparing for my move from Boone to Raleigh:

 

The night school ended, we went to a friends house to celebrate.   I don’t remember much from the night, no…not because I was that drunk.  In fact, I’m not sure I even drank that night.  I just remember looking around myself and thinking it was all ending.  Oh, and I also remember our friend backing into another car in the parking lot.  Oh, college.  Only then would something like that seem so funny.
I’m not sure if I miss college.  I’m sure I do.  I definitely miss school, but I don’t think I miss being that lost.  Because that’s what I was while I was in school.  My best friend was hours away as was my family.  My boyfriend and I were great, but I spent the last two years of school expecting a ring that little did I know wouldn’t come til a year after we graduated.  I avoided the question that all college seniors field on a daily basis like the plague: And what will you do with that degree? Sadly, not much has changed in last three years.  But I guess that’s what life is.  A constant learning experience.  And a constant journey.

Saddle up!

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

