Hard to Move [4]

I didn’t want to be alone.  That’s what I feared the most.  And that’s why when J told me we were moving to Georgia after the wedding, I broke down.  I knew nobody in Athens.  My family and my friends and my life were in Raleigh.  I’d asked my mom: how do you make friends after school? I mean, really?  When you don’t sit in classes all day long with people who have the same interests as you, how do you make friends?

It was the last day of our honeymoon in Mexico.  And despite the gloomy forecast for the week, it was the seventh day of clear skies and sun.  We’d gotten into our routine; we were relaxed, comfortable and happy.  But I still dreaded the impending move.  But when you’re in Mexico, it’s easy to forget your worries.  J geared up to play water volleyball, like he did every day.  He’d surround himself with perfect strangers and enjoy himself for an hour.  And I’d enjoy myself watching and cheering or settling in with a book.  Everything was perfect.

It was sweltering hot, but we hardly ever noticed because of the swim up bar and the comfort of the cool water.  I brought my book in and sat on the first step of the pool to the side of the volleyball net.  A girl was sitting near my on the same step, but a few minutes passed before we exchanged greetings.  But when we did?  It was like we’d known each other all our lives.  Our husbands and friends joke now that we divulged our entire life stories in under thirty seconds.  We got to the So where ya from? part of our conversation, and my heart sank.

Well, we’re from Raleigh, NC but we’re moving to Georgia the day after tomorrow.

You’re kidding? B stated.  Where in Georgia?

My husband, that one right there I pointed to J, is going to UGA for grad school, so Athens.

B’s eyes bugged and she swallowed the swig of her drink.  We live in Loganville, only about 30 minutes away!

My heart bubbled and relaxed all at the same time.  B went on to explain that they were there with four other couples who were all from the same area and invited us to sit with them at lunch after the game.

We spent the rest of our last day (their first day!) drinking and laughing and getting to know each other in the pool.  The daylight started to fade away and we exchanged information.  We said our goodbyes and hoped to see them soon.  By the time they returned from their trip, we’d be living in Georgia.

We’ve been married 8.5 months now, and I’m actually sitting at B’s kitchen table as I type.  Someone (thanks, God!) sent this wonderful group of friends into our lives because He knew I desperately needed them!

 

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

