Under the Radar

Hi Friends.  Reporting in from under a snugly blanket while on husband’s computer.  Some sad news?  I killed my mac.  It doesn’t even boot up when I turn it on, it just clicks and give me the folder with a question mark inside it.  FYI: that’s like the worst.  Thankfully, I’ve got a brother and a good friend who are like computer GENIUSES who are so willing to fix it for me over thanksgiving.  It’s been challenging to be without the computer because of course it would be during this time that inspiration strikes for a new book.  I’ve been doing what I can while I can sneak hub’s netbook (he doesn’t even have a real computer)–I’ve been working in google docs when I get the chance.

The novel that I’ve been trying to save for a year or so I think is finally dead.  Maybe someday it will be pulled from the dusty corners of a closet and re-examined, but I think for now it’s purpose has been served.  It helped me realize that I am capable of writing a novel from start to finish.  But the characters are flat and the storyline bores even me.  Sounds great for a debut novel, right?  Yeah, I didn’t think so.

I am getting SO excited for the approaching holidays.  Hubs allowed me (after I had a terrible day) to start decorating little by little for Christmas.  We won’t have our tree til after Thanksgiving because we’re picking it up in Raleigh, so at least that’s not up yet.  And our awesome friend/ wedding photographer is sweet enough to pass down her “We don’t have a mantle stockings holder” to us!  I’m so grateful that we’re able to decorate our house so cozily during this time of year.  There’s just something about snowmen and twinkling lights that make my heart soar.  I’m waiting until after Thanksgiving to put out our Nativity set, but it’s going front and center!  It’ll be the first thing anyone sees when they come to visit (if anyone DOES come to visit…we are sorely lacking in the visitors department.  C’mon guys.  Get on that!)

It will probably be a while now until I report back in, but at least then I’ll be on my own computer :).

Happy Thanksgiving!

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

