A few things…

I’m not sure if most of you know or not, but I finally got a real, big girl job here in Athens.  Don’t let that fool you, I’m still dedicated to my writing career, but Hubs and I need to put food on the table and pay rent, you know?  I’ve been hired on as the Assistant Manager of an apartment complex here.  I’m really enjoying what I’m doing, and I work with a great staff.  I also enjoy getting to meet new people daily and getting to know the residents.

Carrie Underwood’s new song: Mama’s Song gives me chills and it makes me cry every time, even when I’ve got it on repeat.  Have you heard it?  It may not mean as much to you as it does to me since I’ve recently been married and I’m super close with my Mom, but it’s a touching song none the less.  The video is sweet too.  Here, I’ll link it for you!  Here you go!

I like to feel that I can be honest here, and if that’s the case I have to admit something.  I’m a little scared about participating in NANOWRIMO this year.  I have to admit that I’m not very good about managing my time now that I’m married.  It was easy to find the time to write the novel originally because I’d just shut myself away on “my floor” of my parents’ house and disappear from the world until my chapters were done.  I’m a super duper newly wed and I like to spend as much time as possible with the hubs.  I kind of feel guilty when I lock myself away in the office.  I guess in reality it’s only for a month.  And if I can’t devote a whole month to my writing and make some sacrifices, what kind of writer am I anyway?  I’ve also been going to bed at a very decent hour for my new job, and I worry that I’ll lose too much sleep.  But this is all needless whining.  It will be completely worth it, that I know.

I have this crazy stupid bandana headband thing that I wear when I wash my face at night since my hair is too short to wear in a pony tail.  Somehow my cat has tunneled his way through it, and he’s currently wearing it like a scarf.  He got very upset when I tried to remove it.  He’s actually sound asleep right now with it around him.  Hubs joked that it’s better than the $13 “calming collar” I bought from him a few months back.  Maybe he likes that it smells like me or something?  He is super attached to me and terribly clingy.

(please excuse the terrible picture quality.  You’ve got to love mac’s photobooth!)

In the wake of my new job, I retired my Keurig single cup coffee maker this morning.  One cup just doesn’t seem to do the trick when waking up at an ungodly hour or working an adult job with adult hours.  Plus I miss my duncan doughnuts coffee with original Coffeemate creamer.  Something about it reminds me of home.  And I’ll take anything I can get that reminds me of home these days.  I’m not nearly as homesick as I had been, but I think I’ll always miss home.  But I digress.  I’ll save the Keurig for true coffee emergencies.  Like when I need a pick me up on my lunch hour.  I might have a problem…

Hubs and I are attending a halloween party this Friday.  I’m so excited and kind of hope it turns out better than the first and only Halloween party we’ve ever attended together.  You know, the one that I froze at?  To the extent that the host had to put a comforter in the dryer then wrap me in it.  I suppose the weather here in Georgia is slightly warmer than that of Boone’s.  But then we ended the night having to get J’s truck towed from a massive ditch.  Trust me.  It wasn’t as fun as it sounds.  We’re going as a Country Club Golfer/Tennis player couple–costumes courtesy of Good Will, thank you very much!

Alright, friends.  Until next time!

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A few things…

  1. Jen Freeman says:

    Hey! Don’t let Nanowrimo stress you out! It is supposed to be fun. Just do what you can and don’t worry about winning. Last year you were not worried about winning and even though it happened after Nano was over you actually finished a novel.

    On the other hand–I tried really hard the first two weeks of Nano, the got busy with other things, never finished, and have nothing to show for it.

    I like your approach much much better! :)

Leave a Reply

