Home

Remember Old Friend from Far Away? It was my buddy throughout my 100 days of blogging.  Tonight’s topic is home.

~~~

I stood in the path between my house and theirs.  Hers.  At least, it used to be.  My best friend had been ripped from my childhood before we even had a chance.  Eight years old and feeling so alone.  The voices that carried through the summer air were unfamiliar.  Strangers.  There were too many of them.  I would never fit in; they had each other.  What would they need me for?  Sixteen years later I raise my glass and toast the third and final sister’s marriage.  I had become one of them in the space between my home and theirs.

~~~

We stand with no air between us.  Our noses pressed together with millimeters between our lips.  Millimeters which feel like miles.  We are falling for each other beneath the moon and flood lights in the driveway as the fall air prickles our skin.  The scent of the laundry blasts from the vents dizzying our minds.  My friend.  My husband: that house is the home of our young love.

~~~

The hand-me-down red Honda sits frozen in in a snowball in the driveway.  A stick shift and a year between me and the open road.  We sit inside and our imaginations take us away to someplace warmer, someplace where we’re older and more independent.  The air is stale with the memory of it’s previous owner, it’s previous trips.  We are invincible in our make believe world in the driveway we both feel so safe in.  A home shared between friends who in another life would have been sisters.

~~~

I sneak out into the garage to grab a drink.  Quiet and familiar, a break from the chaos.  Heat radiates from the recently stilled engine of Mom’s expedition as it naps, exhausted from it’s journeys to and from the airport.  I lean against it and feel it warm my skin while my heart overflows.  I take a deep breath, crack open the Coke can and open the door to the house.  I take in the laughter and loud voices; my family.  I share blood with some but love with all.  I take in the moment as I realize it’s one of the last I’ll have living in this house.  There’s a wedding tomorrow, and it will change my life and home forever.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

