Confirmed: Crazy

So you know how in the last post I said I’d made the decision to rewrite my entire novel?  Confession: I haven’t touched it.  What’s going on with all this madness?  I think maybe it’s just because everything else in my life is a little up in the air right now.  Nothing really feels settled.  And I don’t like giving something I care so much about a half assed effort.

Well, it’s the perfect time of year for a writer who is about to embark on a crazy adventure such as rewriting their entire novel.  November is National Novel Writing Month.  Or, known to us writers: NANOWRIMO.  What does that mean?  It means we challenge ourselves to write an entire novel, or 50,000 words during the month of November.  You have the support of your fellow writing buddies who are crazy enough to do the same, and it’s actually quite fun.  I only half participated last year.  I was writing my novel at the time, but I also knew that I was taking things a little slow.  I think by the end of the month I’d written about 20,000 of the 50,000.  Not too shabby, I suppose, for someone who wasn’t really trying to knock the word numbers out of the park.  But this year?  What better time to challenge myself to rewrite the entire thing.  I’ve already got the hardest parts done: the concept, the character development, the conflicts and resolutions.  Now I just have to get inside my main characters head and get her talking.

So what do you think?  Think I can do it?  I should probably go ahead and apologize to my husband, friends and family.  I’ll probably be pretty MIA all next month.  But that’s okay.  It’s all for good reason.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Confirmed: Crazy

  1. Kaleigh says:

    We can do it! :) It’ll be quite the adventure…that’s certain…

  2. Tina says:

    You CAN do it! Getting into the character’s mind is something you’re great at. Believe in yourself and your one-month challenge :) I’m rooting for you!

Leave a Reply

