The rarity in words

I was thinking today.  We communicate all day long.  We talk.  We write emails.  We text.  We update our statuses.  We tweet.  I could probably go on and on.  And I thought about how much of what we say is really important.  And I also got to thinking about how much of what we say matters to some one else, good or bad.  How much of what we say can hurt someone?  How much of what we say could make someone’s day?  I feel like sometimes we just open our mouths, words fly out and we don’t care where they land or what may happen in their wake.

I’m a writer.  Words are my life.  And I’ve touched on how words can stick with a person on this blog before.  But today, I want to discuss the rarity in words:  The words we can never grow tired of hearing.

Everything will be okay.

Is there anything that can comfort your more than hearing your mother’s voice telling you everything is going to be okay?  I could probably hear that for the rest of my life and never grow tired of it.  And I know when that voice is muted, It’ll cripple me, and I’ll wish to hear it over and over again.

I’m proud of you.

I heard this one a lot in the last few weeks from people who love me.  I feel like there is growth in those words.  I also feel like there are so many emotions in that statement, and those words can mean so much.  But you rose above it, no matter what it was.  And you know what?  You should tell yourself that sometimes, too.  I remember when I opened the big envelope that I finally received from Appalachian State after being denied as a freshmen and after working my tail off my freshmen year at another school.  I opened the envelope and said out loud to myself: you did this.  I am proud of you.

I love you.

Mean it, though.  Don’t you say it if you don’t feel it.  Don’t lie to someone in that way.  Don’t fill someone’s heart with falsities.  And when someone says it to you, and you know they mean it…you could float on clouds.  Have you ever heard the statement: fake it until you make it.  Don’t you ever apply that to love.

Are there any words that you could never grow tired of?  What are they?  Is there something you repeat over and over to yourself when things are rough that give you comfort?

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

