Happy Thursday

1) I’ve got dinner cooking right now.  My mom’s (actually, my Grandmother’s) sauce recipe with homemade meatballs and spaghetti.  There’s just something about having this aroma in the air that comforts my heart and puts me right back into my parents’s house sitting at the kitchen table where everything is warm and safe.  I think that’s probably the definition of comfort food.

2) I also have chocolate chip cookie dough made from scratch sitting in the fridge that I intend to  put on baking pans and make cookies out of and not eat raw while watching show premiers tonight.  While I was fixing the dough, I said to my husband that at least I’d make a good mom who bakes spontaneously without making excuses that it’s too much trouble or makes too big of a mess.

3) Can we talk about how friendly people are here in the South for a second?  Seriously.  I thought NC was friendly, but man.  I pulled into a parking spot downtown earlier this week, and I was sitting in my car digging out change for the meter when this nice older lady knocked on my window and gave me her dash board card with two hours left on it because she was leaving.  I was floored!  Then this afternoon I was at the grocery store waiting in line for the self service check outs.  I was in line for a particular one, but the man waiting for a different one tapped me on the shoulder and said that his opened up first and I had been waiting longer so I should go ahead.  Really?  I didn’t even know people did that kind of stuff.  Then, when I was leaving the grocery store, I had to turn right out of the parking lot lane and the oncoming car just stopped and waved me ahead.  Such friendly peoples these Georgians are :)

4) I am anxiously awaiting the second weekend in October.  I am traveling (solo) t o Western North Carolina to visit my brother & his family.  My Mom and Dad will be there that weekend as well and they are bringing one of my sisters and my niece with them.  Thankfully, I’ve been getting over my homesickness little by little, but a dose of family will do me some good.

5) I went to my first UGA game this weekend, and I was shocked at the number of people.  I was also super impressed with their tailgating skills.  However, my husband and I have determined that I am a liability.  And you can sing that to the tune of the “Cereal and Milk” song.  Li-a-bil-lity, Li-a-bil-lity, Li-a-bil-lity–can’t take you anywhere.  Needless to say, I rolled my ankle waiting for the bus to take us to campus and was a mess the rest of the day.  Thankfully it only took a few days to heal.  Probably the same amount of time it took my husband’s heart to heal from UGA’s loss to Arkansas.

Have a good weekend, friends!

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

