Correction

Today at church, I paid special attention to the sermon.  While it can apply to anyone generally in life, I couldn’t help finding that it applied very specifically to my writing career.

The Pastor spoke about Corrections.  Which he explained is very different from Criticism.  Criticism is a wrong addressed with judgement made.  Correction is a wrong addressed with a solution provided.  And the overall point of his sermon was such:

We will not be ready for life until we are willing to:

receive correction.

adjust to correction.

invite correction.

Do you see now how it can so blatantly be applied to having a successful writing career?  The hardest part, at least for me, is the vulnerability that comes with writing.  People seeing and reading and judging.  Not just the content but the art and craft behind it.  As a writer, I want so badly to do my job well, but I am fully aware that I can always be better.  I know my work is plagued with grammatical errors and my stories can always use maturing.  Knowing it and seeing it for yourself is one thing.  Hearing it from someone else is something else entirely.  It’s like getting a test back in school that is covered with red x-s.   And just like in life when someone “corrects” us, pride gets in the way.  No, I did it right.  No, my story is fine.  No, nothing needs fixing.  Pride makes for a fool.

The way of a fool seems right to him but a wise man listens to advice. Poverbs 12:15

I have made the decision to move forward with my writing with today’s sermon in mind.  Correction is not necessarily a negative thing.  It’s okay to not do things right the first time because in adjusting to correction lessons are learned.

Don’t get me wrong.  It is so hard to receive correction/adjust to correction/invite correction in life and in writing.  When I think about it, a lump of fear forms in my throat.  What if it’s just not good enough. But that’s where I have to put my faith in Christ out there.  Writing is not something I can do alone.  I have to depend on the correction of others to be the very best writer and person I can be.  Hard or not.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in inspiration, love, personal, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Correction

  1. Kaleigh says:

    That was a great post. I think I needed to hear it too! Thanks so much for sharing it. And I know exactly how you feel about writing! Nervous and shy. But I am grateful for people like you who are willing to read my writing without judgement, just corrections ;). Awesome post :)

Leave a Reply

