A little all over the place

You guys?  We have THIS living on our neighbor’s window…

And tonight she’s got dinner.  A large flying insect.  Seriously.  Her dinner is almost as large as she is.  And in the upper right corner of our neighbor’s window is her egg sac.  It’s huge.  Which means in about three weeks we’re going to have anywhere from 400-1500 of those [not so little] guys running around here.  Seriously.  I’m itching writing this.  Hubster and I did some research and they are called agriopes.  Thankfully, they are not harmful to humans so I can rest easy.  But still.  It’s so huge that if I saw it crawling around somewhere and not in the safety of it’s web, I’d be in the hospital due to heart attack.  I don’t do creepy crawlies.  Thank you very much.

Okay, enough about that.  I just thought I’d share.

Fall is teasing me.  I can feel it outside.  Now, granted here in GA I consider 80 a nice break in summer weather.  But still, I wasn’t roasting when I was outside today.  And today was the first I’ve been outside in almost 2 straight days.  I’ve been sick.  But anyhoo.  Fall means so much to me.  Pumpkin scented candles.  Pretty scarves and fun boots.  Football and tailgates.

Being in a college town, especially one that I never attended school in is a little strange for me.  I almost don’t like it.  I remember when living in Boone that I felt like I was in a bubble.  Like anyone who didn’t go to ASU didn’t belong there.  Get off my turf, I’d think.  I see students everywhere.  They’re so easy to detect.  Young, though mostly around my age.  But they all have pretty much the same look on their faces.  Carefree yet scared to death at the same time.  I remember feeling like that.  Knowing that where you are at the exact moment in your life is safe and fun, but there is a looming end.  Be it in 4 years or 6 months, soon you’ll be dropped off at your final bus stop and have to make a life for yourself.  Scary stuff, I tell you.

I was thinking about that while getting ready this morning.  I finished reading The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks, and at the very end the main character makes a comment about God forbid still living at her mother’s house at twenty five.  And I was thinking, am I really a grown up yet?  Somehow, I still feel like I’m living within that safe bubble I had in college, except it’s so different.  I keep waiting for my life, my adult life, to start.  But I guess that’s the glory of it all.  I am living my adult life.  I am married [happily, I might add].  And we get by just fine chasing our dreams.  Sure, there is always going to be another step.  There is always going to be some element of the unknown that scares us all half to death, but that’s what life is.

If you wait to do anything until you’re sure it’s right, you’ll probably never do much of anything. -Win Borden

A ship is safe in harbor, but that’s not what ships are for. -William Shed

Oh fall, you’re so full of possibilities.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in friendships, inspiration, love, marriage, personal, reading, relationships, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A little all over the place

  1. At first it looked like the spider was cutting it’s way through the window pane haha.

Leave a Reply

