Undiscovered

This past weekend, while exchanging small talk with someone I don’t know, the typical question came up.

“So what do you do?”

Uhh…

“Well, technically I’m a nanny, but I’m also working on the edits for my book.”

The girl’s eyes nearly bug out of her head.  “You’re a published author?”

“Well, no.  Not exactly.  I’m going to get the novel in the best shape I can then query out for an agent.”

The girl stares at me like I just told her the sky was purple.  “You wrote a whole book and you don’t know if it’s going to get published?”

“Well, yes.  That’s how it works.  You write a book, then you try to get it published.”

“Why don’t you just get a publisher or agent first?”

I guess back before I got into the whole “writing world” I must have thought this was the case, too.  I mean, you see so many movies where talent is revealed and someone convinces the person to do something with it.  You should write a book, I’ll publish it for you!

And I’m sure for some people, that’s how it works.  But honestly?  That doesn’t happen for small town nobodies like me.  It just doesn’t.  Who’s going to “discover” my talent and throw lots of money at me to write a book they know nothing about.  I surely wouldn’t.   The girl pressed on to ask what happens if nothing comes of this book.  And I told her then I write another.  I swear the girl thought I was insane.  She asked me if I’d feel like my time was wasted, throwing all this effort into something that isn’t a guarantee.  Absolutely not, I told her.  If this book does nothing else for me, it’s at least done two things: 1) I proved to myself that I can do it and 2) It taught me how to do it.

Yes, a lot of work has been put into this piece of work.  It’s probably the one thing I’ve worked harder at than getting my husband to marry me!  A lot of tears have been shed because of it.  A lot of hand cramps have manifested because of it.  A lot of sleep has been lost.  But no matter what happens, it’s all worth it to me.

Haven’t you ever heard the phrase: do what you love and you won’t work a day in your life?  Yup.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in inspiration, love, personal, reading, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Undiscovered

  1. Kaleigh says:

    Amen to that sister! Some would call writing a book a labor of love. You could even compare it to marriage. It’s not something that comes from no effort or devotion. You constantly have to nurture it and develop it into something beautiful. It takes true love to make something like that happen! :)

Leave a Reply

