a lion with a mask

Some have been thought brave because they were too afraid to run away

-Thomas Fuller

Ever been there?  Caught right in the middle of everything you’ve known and grown so comfortable with but no longer love?  I was talking with a buddy this weekend who was describing a relationship he’d recently gotten out of.   A four year relationship; I commended him.  Being a victim of a long term relationship (you know, they aren’t always pretty) myself, I know it takes quite a bit of courage to stay in a relationship…but it also takes a lot of courage to leave one.  The longer you are with a person, the harder it is to leave.  The longer you’ve been at a job, the harder to quit.  The longer you’ve lived at home, the harder to move on.  Courage or weakness?  My friend had explained to me, though, when I commended him that it was more out of comfort than out of desire.  I am afraid there are far too many like him.  And I commend him on having the courage to walk away from something that wasn’t right.

But then what happens once you’re free?  That, I think, is the scariest part.  Standing on your own two feet after having four for so long.  I’d been in and out of relationships in high school, and every time one would fizzle out (or blow up completely) the next day was always the hardest part.  No matter how pretty or ugly the break up had been, it was the standing alone part that always got me the next day.  I’d walked down the same hallways alone that I’d walked the day before as a pair.  And then you spot them, walking on their own, and they seem just fine.  Courage or weakness?

I ask you, are you brave?  Or are you a coward in disguise?

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in breakups, friendships, high school relationships, inspiration, love, relationships, writing, young love. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a lion with a mask

  1. excellent post on many levels. I love the way you write!

Leave a Reply

