love. commitment. faith

As I get through my revisions, I get a chance to re-read my novel.  And with the new school year starting around me and the relationships that flourish in my novel, I can’t help but think about new love.  I’m quite a stranger to that now a days.  But I can still remember the first few months of my relationship with J.  And my main character and her love interest are just falling for each other where I’m at in my edits now.

J and I went out downtown on Friday night with a buddy I haven’t seen in FIFTEEN years.  Yes.  You read that right.  Someone I haven’t seen since elementary school was sharing a beer with me on Friday night.  Friday night also marked the end of the first week of school for the students of UGA.  Downtown was packed.  And as an innocent bystander,  I watched girls get approached by guys who think they’ve got a chance.  I’d watch the girls gracefully dance out of the range of the guys.  I was in awe.  How do they do it?  I was exhausted when we got home, and I wasn’t out all evening trying to meet my future spouse.  I can only imagine how going out in college would have been different for me if I had been single.  But honestly?  I’m thankful I wasn’t.  Even now, I’d still prefer the method of dating in high school.  It was, I can’t believe I’m going to say this, easier.  You see someone in the hall you find cute.  You pine after them for weeks before you get the courage to say hello.  Then you end up in that awkward phase where you aren’t really sure if you’re together or not.  Then you kiss thus beginning a relationship.  And then one gets tired of the other and you break up.  You cry until you spot someone else in the hallway thus beginning the cycle all over again.

There must have been something in the water at my high school, though.  Like most high schools, couples sprouted over the years that stayed together until graduation.  But somehow most of the couples from my senior class survived college and are now married.  I think back to the nights I’d cry because people would tell me seventeen was too young to understand what Love was and that what I had wouldn’t last and no I can’t help but laugh.  It amazes me how even at such a young age most of us found the one we’d marry.  And that makes me wonder what it really takes?  And honestly?  I think all it takes is love, commitment and a little faith.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in breakups, friendships, high school relationships, love, relationships, young love. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to love. commitment. faith

  1. jen says:

    Hey! I was thinking about this the other day . . . Almost everyone in your family married their high school sweetheart!

Leave a Reply

