The course of a relationship

So Hubs and I have started watching the series of How I Met Your Mother. Yes.  We realize we are about five years behind on the trend, but we’re loving it none the less.  Well, while watching it the other night, Ted mentioned something about how a relationship had just run it’s course.  And it got me thinking.

Do all relationships have some kind of expiration date? Yes, I realize as a married lady, you all might gasp at me asking that question.  But even marriages have some sort of “course.”  Even if it’s til death do us part, death does eventually come along and part the two.  And that, very well, could be the course.  But I started thinking about past relationships for both me and my friends.  And I realized that even while in most relationships, I had this gut feeling that it wasn’t going to be forever.  It was as if I knew that there would be an inevitable day when one of the two of us would get tired of the other.  It wasn’t until I started dating J that I realized something felt different.  That fear wasn’t there.  The dreading of a certain day.  My best friend, who was also my maid of honor, can tell you about a phone conversation we had very early in my relationship with J where I actually said the words: I don’t know.  I can just see us being in a long term relationship. When she quoted that conversation at our wedding, it got some laughs.

But do we all have enough sense to gauge the course of a relationship?  Do we all really know at the beginning of a relationship whether it will last forever or fall by the way side?   It just got me thinking.  And since the show is called How I Met Your Mother it just makes me think back to all the things I did and all the people who came into my life and have long since left and what their impact has been on my life and on my person to land me exactly where I am today.

I have to say, I do believe that relationships do all have a course.  I do believe that some are meant to be quick and painful while others are built to sustain all of life’s curve balls.  And I do also believe that all relationships, the good, the bad and the ugly are all worth having if they shape you into the person your husband or wife will soon fall in love with forever.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in breakups, friendships, high school relationships, love, personal, relationships, young love. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The course of a relationship

  1. I agree with you completely. I think many and most relationships do run their course. I believe many marriages run their course too, but friendships last forever. I am exploring this exact subject in my blog as well. I am going to read more of your posts to see what conclusions or questions you have arrived at. This is very honest and well-spoken. I look forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

