It’s time

My novel: ready for edits!

Well, friends.  I unintentionally took a summer break from my novel.  I told myself when I finished writing it in March that I would leave it be until after the wedding in May.  That way I would have had enough time away from it to actually see any errors and also be more willing to change necessary things within the plot.  When the wedding came and went, I found myself pushing the novel to the side still.  Once I get the house settled, then I’ll start the edits.  Once I find a job, then I’ll start the edits.  Once I get over this cold, then I’ll start the edits. etc. etc.

Athens has almost doubled in population in the last week or so as students all start to move back.  Public schools start Monday and the college starts sometime in the next two weeks.  Back to school sales are everywhere.  Walmart is always packed.  Trendy kids on your TV screen try to convince you that “jeggins” are in.  It got me thinking.  It pains me (shh, I’ll deny it if you bring it up) that I am not going back to school.  This is the third August in which I didn’t have to restock my backpack, and I still miss it.  So I took my happy tushie to the UPS store with my flash drive and paid the $10 and printed off my novel.  There.  Then I went to get a binder in which I put all 247 pages into.  There.  Now.  I have no excuse.  Ladies and gentlemen: This is me saying that by Christmas…my novel will be edited and in the final stages of prepping to query for an agent.

Crap.  Now I actually have to do it, don’t I?  How about that for accountability, huh? :)

Speaking of self discipline, I mentioned before that I was starting the couch to 5k training program.  I’m not going to lie, as the most un-athletic person I’ve ever known, it’s killing me. But I’ve gotten really into it.  As hard as it is for me while I’m actually doing it, I’ve found that I feel all around better.  I find that I make healthier eating choices too.  (I’ve been craving salads like crazy lately, which is totally out of character for me: Mrs. Cheeseburger & fries).  I asked J about it, and he explained that exercise often does that to you.  I’ll take it.  I sleep better, too.  Because I spend my energy in the right way throughout the day, that come bedtime I’m actually really tired.   I don’t know that I’ll actually ever get to a point that I am able to run a 5k without walking, but to me that’s not the point.  The point for me is to get my ass off the couch and exercise.  I lost someone very very dear to me because he made unhealthy eating choices and never ever exercised.  I will not do that to the people I love.  I’m going to make sure I’m around to annoy them for a long long time!

For our dating anniversary (which J and I have decided we’ll celebrate though we’re married until we hit 10 years), we’ve always been able to get anything we want within a certain price range.  J usually gets a video game.  I usually get a purse.  Well, this year when we went to get the  purse I wanted, I realized how much it resembled the bag I was already carrying and decided not to get it.  J then made the mistake of taking me into a pet store that has a humane society adoption room.  Then he made another mistake: he told me if I wanted to, I could adopt another cat.  Oh, mr. husband how I love you so. I showed so much maturity today, however, I actually surprised myself.  They had adorable little kittens, younger cats and what they called “senior citizens.”  Well, the cat I was most drawn to was 8 years old: a senior citizen.  We played for a good long while, but  I told J we needed to think it over before we made any rash decisions.  I would love to give Smokey a permanent home.  And I would love for Webster (my two year old kitty) to have a buddy to play with and annoy, but I just don’t feel that right now is the best time for us to take on another animal.  I know.  Gasp.  I must be growing up!  I am, however, going to go back tomorrow after work to put in a request to volunteer with them on Fridays & Saturdays.

Enjoy what’s left of your weekends, Friends!

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in family, friendships, inspiration, love, personal, relationships, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s time

  1. Jen Freeman says:

    Woo hoo! Way to go with getting on the road to making your edits! I hear this is one of the hardest parts of the writing process! I’m so proud of you & you are inspiring me to get my writing done!

Leave a Reply

