sweet summertime

I touched a little bit the other day about how I’ve been reading like crazy this summer.  I am usually the world’s slowest reader, but for some reason I’ve been able to blow through them.

1) True Colors: Kristin Hannah.  This novel surprised me.  It was my first Kirstin Hannah novel, and I can’t wait to dive into the other that my sister lent me.  It followed the trial of a man who may or may not have killed the local “friendly” woman on Christmas eve while his new family was at midnight mass.

2) The Carrie Diaries: Candace Bushnell.  I have to say this was at the top of my birthday wish list and husband delivered!  I loved the S&TC HBO series, but hadn’t ever read anything by CB before (surprisingly).  Carrie Bradshaw is a mere high school senior in this novel having to deal with friends, her future and (gasp!) love.  I loved getting an inside glimpse at the well known character’s family life (which is tragically left out of the entire S&TC series).  She has sisters and a loving father and you learn all about who she was before she became a famous fashionista and familiar with the streets of NYC.

3) Speak: Laurie Halse Anderson.  This was my first by LHA and yes, I realize this was probably on most high school reading lists across the nation, but somehow it was tragically left off of mine.  I’d heard wonderful things about the novel that follows a teenager dealing with a deep dark secret that costs her her friends and even her family, and I am here to confirm them.

4) Paper Towns: John Green.  This was also a first for me by John Green (this must have been my summer of firsts!)  I must say, I LOVED getting inside the head of a teenage boy, which John Green does fantastically.  I loved following the mystery of “Where’s Margo” and becoming buddies with the main cast of characters as they search for her.

5) Wintergirls: Laurie Halse Anderson.  This is not a light book.  It is scary and sad and powerful and moving.  LHA does a fantastic job showing the different roles of the main character from daughter to student and step sister as she battles (and counts!) her food while dealing with anorexia.

6) Heart of The Matter: Emily Giffin.  I could tell you before I picked up the book that I’d love it, simply because it’s written by EG.  I was pleasantly surprised to find that the main character is connected (sister) to one of the main characters of her first novel Something Borrowed.  EG does a wonderful job wading through the forbidden relationship with a married man and the mind of the suspicious wife.

Next on deck is Still Alice by Lisa Genova.

What are you reading?  Do you have any suggestions?  I’d love to hear ’em!

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in family, friendships, inspiration, reading, relationships, writing, young love. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to sweet summertime

  1. Sarah says:

    I’m assuming, since this was written in July, that you’ve read “Still Alice” already. What did you think of it? It made me cry, legitimately.

Leave a Reply

