Christmas in July

My family came to town this weekend.  It was so so so wonderfully nice to have them here.  Being such a homebody and the youngest, it didn’t surprise me how much them being here made me miss home.  Yes, I know this is my home now, and I love my new home, I just miss home home.  The transition will happen, I’m sure, where I start to look at this (me and J) as my first home, and everything else second.  It just will probably take longer than a month.

On that note, when J got home from work on Monday, he hugged me for a long long time and whispered into my ear that he missed me “today.”  He was only gone for a regular work day, and he missed me.  It was just a simple reminder of how much he loves me and how truly lucky I am.

We are heading out of town (again) this weekend for a close friend’s birthday bash.  We are so excited to see him and our other friends whom we haven’t seen since the wedding.  It’s another reminder of how lucky J and I are to have such wonderful friends who love to have such a great time!  Pontoon boats have been rented for the day to spend on Lake Norman while everyone enjoys the sunshine and then that night we’re heading out on the town of Charlotte on a party bus.  I’ve never been on one of those before, but I’m uber excited, especially since K has decided to come too!  I haven’t seen her since we got back from the honeymoon, and to some of you that may not seem like that long, but it’s like going that long without air.  It’s just always very refreshing to see her and hang out with her.  I just better remember to pack some redbull as I’m usually the first to tire, and I don’t want to be “that girl” this weekend!  I’m ready to par-tay! :)

I’ve been reading like Ca-ra-zay this summer.  Which is great, but in doing so I’m quickly realizing I need glasses.  I did invest in a pair of those reading glasses they have in the pharm, but I’m realizing in my daily life, though, that regular things are hard to see/read that shouldn’t be.  I’m thinking we may just have to bite the bullet and get me to an eye doc.  I don’t know that driving this way is too safe.  Or walking.  Or, really, anything!

I’ve stalled with the edits.  Which I know is in part to the fact that I haven’t sent Z a schedule yet, meaning nothing (and no one) is holding me accountable.  I know myself too well.  But I also know that once I send that schedule that I’ll dive into a world of unforgiving (on myself) time crunches and long hours of staring at a computer screen and my manuscript, and I’m just not sure if I’m ready to leave this blissed out world of newlywed-dom quite yet.  And, of course, I don’t know if I should commit myself too much to strict schedule before I find out what’s up with my eyes.  As a writer, I have two very important factors: my hands and my eyes, both of which have given me ample trouble in this life.  Go figure :)

I’m getting stupidly excited for Christmas.  Yes, I realize it is July and 100 degrees outside, but I’m getting anxious for sweaters and garland and Christmas cookies and movies.  J and I watched Fred Claus last night, too.  That’s another thing I love about my husband, his willingness to watch Christmas movies despite the month or temperature!

I hope you all have a wonderful week!

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in family, friendships, love, personal, relationships, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas in July

  1. Kaleigh says:

    I must confess that I’ve been humming Christmas songs for a week now! I don’t know what it is about July that gets me pumped for Christmas…

Leave a Reply

