Like a pair of shoes

Since J and I moved to GA, we’ve spent our Sundays at different churches in search for one that works best for us.  I was raised Catholic.  He was raised Southern Baptist.  And for a long, long time I was tremendously worried about what kind of church we would end up at.  I was used to things being a certain way, and I hate change.

In the three Sundays that we’ve been married, I’ve seen several different ways of worship.  But I realized on this past Sunday, while we were visiting a good friend and her church in Greenville, SC, that although there are several different ways to worship, it all ends up in the same place.  Doesn’t it?  Her church was unlike anything I’d ever seen.  And two years ago, it would have terrified me.  J said it best when we first walked in: “I feel like I’m in an airport terminal.”  He was right.  There were gift shops. There was a Starbucks. You could feel the floor vibrating from the bass that echoed from the sanctuary. If I’d been blind folded, I would have expected to open my eyes to find a rock concert…not a church.  People were casual.  Jeans.  T-shirts. Shorts. People were drinking their coffees and eating their free doughnuts.  They were talking to each other.  I was floored. But then I looked to my right.  A pregnant lady and her husband stood with their arms wrapped around each other with their attention fully focused on the worship music in front of them.  The lady wiped tears from her eyes.  And it was then that I realized that maybe worship is just like finding a good fitting pair of shoes.  They may not be the fanciest, but they are comfortable and they serve the same purpose.  Are the members of this Church (and there are over two thousand of them) any less Christian?  Could they all really be that wrong?  And I guess that could be argued for every church.  All the members believe the same thing.  They worship the same way.  And maybe that’s the whole point to all of this.  Finding the right way to worship for you.

I believe in Jesus Christ.  I believe he died on the cross for my sins.  And I believe, out there somewhere, is a right way for me to worship.  And I believe that someday I’ll find it.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in family, inspiration, personal, relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Like a pair of shoes

  1. Kaleigh says:

    I agree whole heartedly with that! Everyone has their own way to worship. I’m LDS and I know that people don’t always agree with my church and beliefs, but it is what I believe to be true. And no matter what church you belong to, as long as you have a relationship with God, then I think you are on the right course.

  2. Courtney says:

    Does Abby by any chance attend Redemption World Outreach Center? There might be other churches like that here, but Redemption used to be a client of mine, and you pretty much described them to a tee, so I was just wondering :)

Leave a Reply

