Puzzle pieces must fit just right.

Married life?  Well, it’s pretty amazing.  I’m not going to lie.  Being married pretty much means getting to have a sleepover with your best friend every single night, and it couldn’t be any better.

Writing life?  Well, I’m about to take the plunge once again.  Why is it, though, that the starting is the hardest part?  I remember being here months and months ago fretting over starting the novel.  And you’d think that’d be the harder part.  The starting of the book, not the edits.  But now I’m staring at the words I worked so hard to string together so perfectly and contemplating ripping them apart.  It’s like killing your own child. You want to believe it’s perfect just the way it is, but you also know it’s necessary.  It’s a true emotional battle.  And I didn’t know it would be this hard.  But it’s okay.  I’ll get through it.  The starting is always the hardest part.  Once I start…really start, I’ll be okay.

The job search?  that’s going okay, too.  I think.  I’ve been speaking with a lady about a nanny job that starts in August.  Her son will be three months old then, and I really want the job.  The mom and dad are amazing, and the baby is precious.  And they’re right down the road from me.  It would be a perfect fit, that is, if they’ll have me.  Please, if you pray, pray for me.

My bestie sent me a lovely birthday present.  It was so special to open up my mailbox to find this:

she really knows me too well.  It makes me miss being close to her.  Because you know what we’d do?  We’d go to a coffee shop and read and journal together.  We were good at sharing time like that.  And I know for some of you it’s hard to believe that K and I can be in the same room without talking each other’s ears off, but it is possible.  And we loved to do it.  Remind me to send her a video camera.  I desperately need some skype time in with that girl.

Webster?  He’s doing really well, too.  He’s not nearly as neurotic as he was locked in my room back in Raleigh.  He, unfortunately, has started the whole “pee where you’re not supposed to” thing again.  But he does still use his little box some of the time, so I’m taking advantage of the time that I’m home and training him NOT to go anywhere else.  He’s also become my little shadow, which is actually quite nice.

He likes car watching.  He’s my little writing buddy.

Let’s just hope that all these wonderful pieces to my new life fit together just right.  Moving and settling in somewhere new is really hard, especially for someone like me who is so allergic to change.  Thankfully, J has been the constant in all of this.  And if any of you are wondering…he’s the best husband.  He really is.  We just know how to love each other so well.  I enjoy cooking (well, attempting to cook) for him.  I love having a meal ready when he gets home from work each day.  So far, I’ve prepared two meals all alone that were just fine!

until next time, friends.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in love, personal, relationships, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Puzzle pieces must fit just right.

  1. Sabrina says:

    I haven’t commented for months, but I wanted to say congratulations on your marriage and the move. I’m glad to see that, pee problems aside, everything seems to be going well. Congrats.

    As for editing, I am right there with you. I’m always impressed and shocked when a writer says they threw out multiple chapters of a book. When faced with editing my own work, it’s both difficult and exhilarating. It takes me forever, but eventually, something completely unrelated will connect with the story and I can see where the big changes need to go and how to fix some of the problems (plot holes and the like). The momentum builds from there. It’s a great feeling to suddenly know how to make your story better. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

