down to the wire…

…And we’re down to the week of lasts.  I don’t mean to sound so doom and gloom, I just like taking note, you know?  Like last night… In our house, spaghetti and meatballs are a staple and customary on a Sunday afternoon.  I didn’t realize until after all the plates had been cleared that that was my last Sunday Spaghetti dinner in my parent’s home as an unmarried woman who lives there.  Weird…

I won’t harp too much on all that, because this is a happy week.  I’m trying my best to balance my emotions that flood my heart.  I am so so excited to see J on Thursday and all my wonderful friends and family who will be gathering as the week progresses, but I can’t help but think about the friends I will be leaving after the honeymoon.  As exciting as it all is, it makes my heart just a little sad.  Change is always hard, right?

In animal news, my silly kitty Webster has become a semi-outdoor cat.  Since all the work has been done in the house, and I can’t trust him not to pee on everything–he spends most of his day time outside.  He never leaves the property.  He usually sits underneath the deck or chases the birds from the bird feeder in the back yard.  When my mom and I got home yesterday after spending an unintentional 3 hours at the mall waiting on her new pair of glasses since she broke her glasses yesterday morning, I started calling Webbie.  He usually comes when he is called, but sometimes it takes him a few minutes.  I can almost hear him holler back “one more minute, Mom!”  Well, after hours of calling him and a storm rolling in, I assumed he was gone.  I tried to make myself okay with the news, but I was sad.  He wasn’t coming back.  I called and called and called as the thunder rolled.  My mom came home from taking my dad to the airport, shook a bag of food for 2 seconds and he came running.  What a fatty!

I don’t feel as differently as I had imagined.  It’s a regular ole’ day of wedding details and packing around the house.  I wonder when it will all hit me.  And I’m sure once it does, it’ll hit like a ton of bricks!

Happy Wedding Week!!

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in family, love, personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

