the guy

A little update: I can feel my heart lifting.  I don’t know what had me so down, but whatever it was it has passed for the time being at least.

The other night while working a rare work shift, I know..gasp!  A client had to wait, and while she waited we got to talking.  She knew from a long time ago that I’m getting married.  She’d asked over time where and when and asked about all the drama, etc.  But the other night, she asked my favorite question I can ever be asked.

“So,” she said as she leaned against the couch with her arms folded smugly across her chest with a sly smile across her face.  She must have known how the question would light me up.  “Tell me about the guy.”

Oh, the guy.  The guy! My heart sings thinking of all the things I could say.  Words couldn’t fly out of my mouth quickly enough.  The guy, I must say is the best detail.

For those of you who don’t know J, well, he’s great.  He’s got a smile that could knock the wind out of you.  His eyes are kind and they change colors.  He can quote every line of every movie he’s ever seen.  He can make the saddest of hearts laugh.  That’s probably what drew me to him most.  His ability to make any situation enjoyable.  I smile when I’m around him.  Which years ago wouldn’t have seemed like such a big deal because I smiled all the time.  But lately, I’ve noticed I’ve been weathered and beaten down by things that have occurred in my life.  And my smiles don’t come as frequently.  He always always brings one to my face.

I’ve never in my life known love like this.  And really, that probably isn’t saying much since we fell in love at seventeen…but our love is like movie love.  Like The Notebook love.  Rare and real.

J works hard at everything he does.  He never half asses anything.  He’s so smart, and he doesn’t even have to try.  He’s kind.  What made me realize when we were so young that there was really something there was that he loved my best friend just like he loved me.  Well, maybe not JUST like–otherwise I’m sure this wedding wouldn’t be happening.  But you know what I mean.  He sees what’s important to me, and he makes it important to him.  He always gives me what I want.  He’s selfless like that.  He’s charming and wonderful, and I could go on about him for hours.  But I won’t.  I’ll save it for his wedding letter.

Oh, the guy.  He’s got my heart,  you know. :)

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in love, personal, relationships, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

