I…I just don’t know…

You guys?  I’m in a bad place.  I should be in the best place ever right now, but I just keep getting jerked around by my job and it’s completely bumming me out.

The store is slow.  I get that.  We’re in a recession, people.  I suppose tanning isn’t high on the priority list for most people.  We’re also having unseasonably warm weather.  People can lay outside and get tan.  But they keep comparing the numbers to last year.  I just don’t see that as fair.  Also…when I was re-hired (spoiler alert…I was the manager here last year and was re-hired for busy season).  But when I was re-hired, they knew my last day would be mid-may.  I sent my boss a reminder email because the next schedule is the last one I’m on.

They’re cutting my hours.  They call me and tell me not to come in.  They have me come in then send me home.  I applied for unemployment when my manager came in one day at one, I was scheduled til four, and told me to go home and that they’d be in touch if and when they needed me to come back in.

They denied my request for unemployment because the owners said I was still on the schedule.  Does it really matter that my name is on a piece of paper if they don’t actually have me working those hours?  That paper isn’t going to give me a paycheck.  I just feel so completely bummed out.  I just don’t need this right now.

What do I do?  I can’t even accept babysitting jobs that pop up on my sister’s company’s site because they are for times that I’m actually scheduled (but then get sent home…)

Can we please just fast forward the next few weeks?  I have 2 1/2 weeks left at this job, people.  Why not just let me work.

majorly bummed.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

