The Girls

Most of you know that I am the baby of five.  And while I have enough siblings to go around, only one was still in the house while I was growing up.  I meant what I said: I am the baby of five.  When I wanted to play with dolls and go to the swimming pool to actually swim, my siblings were off on their own.  They were falling in love and snagging husbands or wives.  I just wanted to play.

God must have known that I was the kind of child full of creativity and with the need to run and laugh and, well, be wild.  The house behind mine provided me with everything I ever needed.  When my first (and oldest) best friend moved to Florida when we were just six years old, I was devastated.  I was certain I was destine to spend my childhood watching my brother play video games.  I cried and felt so alone.  At six, yes.

Then one summer day, I received one of the best gifts God has ever given me.  I heard the sound of little voices behind my house.  Voices that sounded like mine.  I ran to the opening of the path that led from my back yard to the back yard behind mine.  And then I saw them.  New Friends. But what I couldn’t have known then was the type of friends they would become.  There were three girls.  Twins and one two years younger.  I fit right in the middle.  They quickly became my friends.  We ran.  We were creative.  We were wild.  But soon, our friendship changed.  It was no longer three sisters and their friend.  I was accepted into their family like I belonged there all along.  I got three wonderful, lifelong sisters.  You can’t wish for anything like that.  You just can’t.

It was a sad day when they moved away at the start of my freshmen year.  We became teenagers and with the distance, we drifted apart.  Only physically, though.  They are the type of friends that days, months, YEARS can pass between us and our love remains the same.

We’re grown up now.  Yeah, that’s weird to say.  As of last night, both of the twins are married.  I’m next, and  K won’t be far behind.  But there is this bond that remains between us.  And there are so many memories that flood my heart when I’m near them.  We seriously had the very best childhood.  And I couldn’t have asked for better “adopted” sisters to share it with.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

