symbols: how far we take them

As an engaged individual, especially one who longed for a very long time for that little sparkly ring, I’ve always known the importance of an engagement ring.  But, alas, it wasn’t until today that I realized how much jewelry can really tell you about a person.  How many of you single ladies have run into a man somewhere: jogging, walking the dog, at the grocery store, etc and made some kind of connection?  Do you glance down at his left hand to make sure he isn’t tied down?  C’mon.  I know you do.  But does that really tell you anything?  Maybe he doesn’t wear his wedding band.  Maybe he has a girlfriend of 10 years back at the house who was perfectly okay with moving in together without the whole “lets get married” drama.  Maybe he’s engaged…Engaged men don’t wear rings.  At least most don’t.

I’ve worn a ring on my left ring finger since my 18th birthday.  J gave me a beautiful sparkly (not the kind to give my parents a heart attack) diamond ring as a birthday present as a promise ring.  And luckily, he kept his promise and later replaced that ring with the right kind of sparkly diamond ring.  And I’ve worn that ring every second of every day for the last 345 days.  First, let me just say that I am unusually rough on my hands.  That is probably why I’ve always kept my nails short and my wrists always hurt.  Well, my roughness took a toll on my ring and I had to hand it over to the ring doctor today.  I apparently snagged one of the prongs on something (gee, perhaps while packing everything I own into giant boxes and lugging them down three flights of stairs?).  The prong pulled away from the diamond, and while the diamond isn’t loose, I didn’t want to risk it.  Especially since this weekend is my bachelorette party, and we all KNOW how uhm, unruly bachelorettes can be.  I would just die if I lost the stone.  So, my ring has to hang out with the jeweler for a week.  Big deal, right?

RIGHT!  I got sad glances all night long at work.  I even had a few clients give me the head tilt (Friends, anyone?) and ask if I was okay.  Then, as I was setting up the hydration station for a very sweet (and frequent) client, she grabbed me into a hug and said she was so sorry.

I never realized how much weight was put onto a single piece of jewelry.  No wonder it bent under all that pressure.

I’ll be slipping my promise ring back on now, thanks.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in breakups, love, personal, relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to symbols: how far we take them

  1. Jen Freeman says:

    Once, the diamond from my mom’s engagement ring fell out at a hockey game! We were all clapping and cheering for the ‘canes and she said she looked down for some reason at her ring and she said she felt like she was staring down at the grand canyon! We all looked around near our feet and luckily we found it on the ground right near where we were standing! That was a close call! Now I always check my ring at least once every time the ‘Canes score. I’m glad you’re getting your ring fixed, I would hate for the diamond to fall out!

Leave a Reply

