lost

Do you ever long for direction?  If you have as poor a sense of direction as I do, then you probably answered yes.  I mean to ask that question vaguely.  What kind of direction, you may ask.  It doesn’t matter.

Are you too proud to ask for help?  Guidance?  If you’re as stubborn as I am, then you probably answered yes there, too.

I traveled to Georgia this weekend.  It was a glorious, much needed get away.  And the future husby and I got a lot accomplished.  Well, we got a lot of planning done, at least.  But let me tell you, even with my trusty GPS I got terribly lost twice on the way there.  It was dark, and I can’t see in the dark.  I don’t know why that is.  And the last time we traveled to GA I didn’t drive.  But my GPS went all crazy on me.  I guess that’s my own fault for relying solely on technology, but it doesn’t usually fail me.

I’ll admit, I got scared.  Not panicky by any means, but nervous.  I just don’t like not knowing where I am when it’s dark outside, and I can’t see the road.  Call me crazy :)  I felt kind of helpless.  I didn’t know enough about where I was to explain to J where I was.  And he’s only made the trip once, so he didn’t know much about how to direct me.  Fail.

Once I finally got back on the right path, I travelled a good long while in silence.  For some reason when I’m lost, I immediately punch off the radio.  I don’t really know why that is, either.  It’s not as if turning off the radio is going to help me SEE the road signs better, but whatever.  But  I got to thinking about my desire for direction.  And I don’t mean that literally this time.  I mean in general.  In life.  In finding the right path and sticking to it.

Do you ever long for direction?

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in inspiration, personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment