Do you want it badly enough?

We see people who make their own dreams come true.  We see them on television shows like American Idol and we hear about them in wonderful interviews and they fill our hearts with pride for them and hope for us.

Do you ever wonder what it will feel like the day all your dreams come true?  Do you even imagine it for fear of the disappointment if it doesn’t ever happen?  Do you know somewhere deep in your bones that no matter what…it will happen? It’s something you’re sure of like living and breathing.

I don’t know if I’ll ever be famous.  In fact, I don’t care about that at all.  I don’t care if people know my name.  I don’t care if people recognize me anywhere.  In fact, I’d probably prefer that.  But I do know that my dreams will come true some day.  And the reason I know that is because it’s something I want so badly that I won’t ever take no for an answer.  And really, it’s something I’ve always known.  Like, I can see it.  I remember graduating the fifth grade.  On that day, after the ceremony my mom, Aunt and I were hanging out in my mom’s room.  My Aunt gave me my graduation gift.  It was a yellow journal with blue flowers on it with a lock on it.  I loved that journal.  It was the first time I ever realized out loud that I wanted to write.  Writing was always second nature for me.  I always got giddy when we’d have a writing assignment in school.  Because it was something I was good at.  I may not be great at it and I may not ever be, but it is something that comes naturally to me.  There has to be a reason for that, right?

Here I am.  I am one chapter away from finishing my first novel ever. Now wait, before you get all excited–there is a ton of work to be done to it once it’s finished.  I can already tell you of a hundred changes I’m anxious to make for it.  But I made myself promise that I would finish it first then I’d rip it to shreds.   And for those of you who know me…really know me…know that finishing something I put my mind to is a huge accomplishment.  I have a few things in my life that I wanted and people told me no. It hurt.  I was scared.  But I did them anyway.  And I made it.  This will be no different.

Following a dream is probably the hardest thing someone can do.  Because (and I know I’ve said this before) no one will make it happen for you except yourself.  Do you want it badly enough?

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in inspiration, personal, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you want it badly enough?

  1. I just happened across your post and want to echo this feeling you talk about. It’s obvious that you are not only a true creative, but you are a growing creative. Putting your effort right where you want the flowers to blossom most. I, too, believe that simply getting ‘er done is the most straightforward path to that sense of delight and amazement I Know is possible for me. Just as I see it unfold on Project Runway every season ;). Thanks for sharing your process with us. It’s encouraging for sure! And congratulations on creating your first novel!!!

  2. Tina says:

    Great job, Joey. You’ve done a great job staying motivated despite your hectic schedule! What an (almost!) accomplishment :)

Leave a Reply

