becoming one, for real.

Some Pharisees approached Jesus,

and tested him, saying,

“Is it lawful for a man to divorce his wife for any cause whatever?”

He said in reply, “Have you not read that from the beginning the Creator

made them male and female and said,

for this reason a man shall leave his father and mother

and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh?

So they are no longer two, but one flesh.

Therefore, what God has joined together,

man must not separate.

Matthew 19:3-6

I, in no way, like to stand on a soap box and preach to others, especially about what they should or should not believe in.  I feel that each person has the right to decide upon their own beliefs as they please and that no one should force anyone into believing anything differently.  That is not what I want to do here, and that is not what I am doing here.

And I hate to say this because it is not something that I am proud of, and it is something that I’m working on…but I am not a deeply religious person.  I believe in God.  I believe in his teachings.  I believe.  It’s the “organized religion” and “worship” that I have trouble with.  And not trouble in the sense that I don’t understand why people do it, more so trouble with how to do it in a way that suits me and my relationship with Christ.  But that’s not the point of my post, either.

While I am searching for what is right for me, I have been raised Catholic.  I have a large, loud Italian Catholic family.  That’s what I know, and J and I will be married in a Catholic church.  But again, that’s neither here nor there.  Except, this post sparked from my search for our scriptures to use during our ceremony.  While we’re getting married in a Catholic church, J’s family is not Catholic.  So we are having a simple ceremony instead of a Mass.  But with the intensive preparation to be married in the Catholic church, we have been given several tools to aid our journey.  One of those tools is our Prayerbook for Engaged Couples. While I’m still trying to figure out what the best way for me to worship is, I still consider this an amazing tool.  It selects certain passages, offers a “reflection” and then ends with a “prayer.”

This is one reading that really, really speaks to me.  It actually fills my heart with great responsibility and my eyes with tears.  What a wonderfully great blessing marriage is; and what a wonderfully great blessing to believe that we are becoming one flesh. And that nothing can separate us.  I mean, you just don’t get more real than that.

And my opinions about divorce are something that I will keep to myself.  It’s not my place to tell any of you what is right or wrong for you.  But for me, for us, we are going into our marriage fully aware that divorce is simply not an option for us.  And my heart is so full to know that there is a person on this planet who loves me greatly enough to make that kind of commitment to me.  And I feel so wonderfully blessed to have found the person whom I can say the same for.

Whatever your religious beliefs are, I urge all of you to love with your whole hearts.  Don’t shield them in fear of being hurt.  Because if you do not love with your whole heart, you only leave room for–well, things you shouldn’t leave room for.

Therefore, what God has joined together, man must not separate.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in love, relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

