FSM

Do you have a best friend?  I’m talking about the kind of best friend that probably should have been a sibling, but God knew that no parent on earth could handle you as siblings, so He made you friends instead?

I have one.  We like to say that we are FSMs.  Friend Soul Mates. I mean, really.  Think about it.  You go through your entire young life hoping and praying for your soul mate, but whose by your side the whole time?  Who is the person you call when the one who ended up not being your soul mate breaks your heart?  Yeah, that’s your FSM.

This week we {and by we I mean my parents} are having a lot of renovation done to the house.  We’re having the hardwoods replaced downstairs, so we {again, I mean my parents} have been preparing for that.  So today, while I was at work, my parents and the movers moved all the furniture from the entire downstairs out.  In doing this, my father was motivated to fix the rotted wood from underneath the refrigerator.  {Side note, we’ve lived in this house for 22 years, and for about 8 of those years the fridge has been leaking water.}  During his little do-it-yourself project, he cut through a water pipe with a a saw.  Not good.  We then had to turn the water off for the entire house meaning showers, using the toilet, etc were not possible.  Now, it would really only be one day as the Plumber is coming tomorrow morning, but I have to work tomorrow.  And I sell beauty packages.  I’m just afraid that I would be offensive.  And no one wants an offensive J on their hands. I figured I’d just make believe I was camping and give myself a sponge bath in the AM.

Well, my BFF offered for me to come over as she was supposed to be highlighting my hair tonight {over here} so offered a location change and an opportunity to shower.  While I was there, we just got to talking about how different our lives would be if we weren’t friends.

We became friends in the most bizarre or ways.  It’s a story much like that of me & J where we’d known each other for years in close proximity but never took the time to like one another.  In fact, I didn’t like her because I assumed she was a bitch because she was pretty.  {To give you an idea of how pretty, when I ran her picture through myheritage.com for the facebook doppelganger week, the celebrity’s she looked most like were: Angelina Jolie, Katherine Heigl, Kristen Davis and Cindy Crawford.  If I didn’t love her so much, I’d hate her :)}  But ultimately, when she joined the marching band our sophomore year {I joined freshmen year–yes.  We were very cool in HS}, a friend of mine became friends with her because they were in the same section.  Well, my house was “central” even though it was out of the way.  I had the coolest parents of the group, so everyone always came over to my house for movies/pizza/pool etc.  One night, my friend wanted to invite K.  I told her no, but she invited her anyway.  Funnily enough K spent the night that night and I like to say she never left.  Our mutual friend isn’t really our friend anymore, and K is someone I couldn’t imagine my life without.

Love comes in may forms.  And I hope you remember that your friendships {and finding good friendships} are just as important as finding the one. For instance, I would be dirty and smelly tonight if we hadn’t taken the time to develop such a close friendship :)

And for the record, I feel so sorry for our parents.  We both still live at home {yes, we are very cool in our adult lives} and we are probably the two loudest people you will ever meet.  Our parents definitely could not have handled us as sisters :)

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in friendships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

