Making things happen

So everyone has dreams, right? I don’t mean the kind you have while you’re sleeping. I’m talking about the kind that stay with you your entire life. When you were a small child and you thought about what your life would be like when you were all grown up {which was ages away, by the way}, your dreams are how you saw your life.

How did you see your life, whoever you are? Did you see yourself doing exactly what you’re doing right now? Is there something you’ve always wanted to do, but you’ve found excuse and reason not to do it just yet? Has someone told you that you just aren’t good enough? Have they? I’ve had that, you know. Someone telling me I just wasn’t good enough. I’ll tell you right now, if you ever want to be a writer, I suggest steering clear of writing classes in a workshop setting. Actually, I don’t really suggest that. Though those were some of the hardest days of my life, they were irreplaceable, you know. Sitting in a room full of your peers who have read your vulnerable work and talking about it as if you weren’t sitting right there. And you might as well have a muzzle on because you are forbidden to speak. And, at the very end of the workshop, you are allowed to address the class for about 2 seconds as your classmates are already tossing your story underneath a large pile of other pieces as they pack up to leave. No comment, I died to say.
No one is ever going to tell you to follow your dreams. I mean, they do. But they aren’t going to hold you to it, I mean. People always say that, follow your dreams. But they don’t really mean it. They aren’t going to sit down with you and force you to do it. No. The only one who can make it happen is you. You just have to want it that badly, you know. Despite your limitations or all those people who said you weren’t good enough.
That’s what I’m doing right now. And I’m terrified, you know. Writing a novel takes time and commitment when I’d much rather be snuggled in my bed with my kitty after a long, hard day wiping other people’s sweat from the acrylic of a tanning bed. Living the dream, right? What if it was all for nothing; I sometimes wonder. What if it really just isn’t good enough. There is no real way to know until I try. And trying is the hardest part. But no one is going to make it happen for me, no one but me that is. I used to talk all the time about being a writer and writing a book. A dream. A far far off dream. Something that would happen ages from now. But then I asked myself why not now, and I had no answer.
So ask yourself the same question. All those things you dreamt of doing, dreamt of being when you didn’t know any better–do them. Why not? Why not now?

I am here to tell you that chasing your dreams isn’t always easy. And it isn’t always fun. And it isn’t always rewarding. It’s just not. But you have to do it, you know. You just have to do it or you’ll sit around your whole life waiting for these things that might not ever happen to happen.
make things happen for yourself. You can do that, you know.
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making things happen

  1. Nancy Ray says:

    SUCH a great post. seriously, so good. :]

Leave a Reply

