Jennifer Weiner: Little Earthquakes

I have loved every single book I’ve ever read by Jennifer Weiner. She creates characters that you want to become friends with. You mourn when the book ends because you’re sad you can’t hang out with them anymore. That, my friends, is powerful writing. She has wit and heart and pours them into her stories. She makes you care. She makes you care about the big things and the small things. She makes you laugh and she makes you cry. If I could become like any writer, it’d be her. She is just so real, and it makes me want to sit and have a cup of coffee with her while she cracks me up and guides me. And you know, I feel like she’s the type of person who would do that.

Little Earthquakes came out many moons ago, but I just recently got around to reading it. In fact, I finished it yesterday. And without fail, I loved it. Weiner takes you through the lives of four women: Lia, Becky, Kelly and Ayinde. Their lives are completely different, and under normal circumstances they would probably just walk by each other with polite smiles and never connect. But they all have one thing in common: motherhood. And as their friendships develop they find themselves leaning on each other throughout the trials that come with marriage and motherhood.
Having just had her first child which sparked the novel, Weiner takes you on a tour of how motherhood can be. And for those of us who’ve read it, we can never get away with saying nobody ever told us it would be this hard. Because Weiner shows us how horribly wonderful and wonderfully terrifying being a mother can be.
And for someone like me, who is on the brink of starting a whole new life, this was a powerful read. It spoke to me and actually made my uterus hurt. No, I’m not having children anytime soon, but it actually made me want them for probably the first time in my life.
I give this novel five clean diapers! Go pick it up; you won’t regret it…but your husbands might :)
click here to be directed to a page where you can purchase the novel.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

