How you do it {personal}

So lately I’ve been asked on more than one occasion So how do you do it? Do what, you ask? They are referring my insanity. The insanity that made me believe that I could write a novel {my first, at that}, plan a wedding, work full-time and coordinate a move to another state all at once. Yes, I do realize a head examination might be in order. It’s on the todo list, but I can’t promise it’ll get done anytime soon.

How do I do it? I’m up to my ears all the time and completely overwhelmed in the best way. And I ask for a lot of help. I’m not too proud of that, you know. And really, I’ve got great people in my life who are just so willing to jump to my aid in helping my lifelong dreams come true. Okay, so really only one of those things is a lifelong dream: the novel. The rest is just circumstantial. Well, I guess the wedding is somewhat of a lifelong dream too. I mean, c’mon. What little girl doesn’t dream that they’ll marry their prince one day? Yeah, guilty.
I keep a lot of lists. And I am constantly writing my “todos.” And I’ve quickly realized that every time I cross one thing off my todo list, three more are added. And you know, I’ve just had to come to terms with that. I’m constantly running through things in my mind. I’m always plotting out my characters next moves. No really, always. While I’m wiping patron’s sweat from a tanning bed, I’m contemplating throwing my characters off a bridge. Well, not actually. But I am always thinking about them. I dream about them. I worry about them. I imagine their lives, and I have to believe that they are real. Because if I don’t believe they’re real, how the heck will anyone else?
The wedding? Well, thankfully I have a mother who lives and breathes party planning. She’s quite good at it, and I mostly just have to give my approval on things. The fact is, I just want to marry J. I don’t really care about the when/where/how. Okay, maybe I care a little. But I just look at it as another thing that needs my attention, and all that needs to get done will get done.
The move? To be honest, next to nothing has been done about this. And really, that’s probably the one thing that is secretly stressing me out the most. How this will get done, I really just don’t know. But alas, it must so it will.
Right now, my time is very well choreographed. I know just what needs to get done and when. But the fact is, with writing {at least for me} I can’t just sit at a computer and command myself to write. So what I’ve found myself struggling with most is getting in better touch with my writing abilities and forcing myself to get used to a system. I typically like to specify one day, or one afternoon, or one time slot in which I write. I could be a whole chapter or just a couple paragraphs. But essentially the purpose is to train myself to get used to writing at a certain time of day or on a certain day, regardless of my creative urge.
So how do you do it?
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

